We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you have a guest who is Vegetarian”
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #19 of 431 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ventura Avenue
Ventura County
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When you have a guest who is Vegetarian”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Himalaya is at the west end of Ventura near the where the 33 and 101 part ways. Its in a strip mall on the east corner. So if a friend wants to eat something asian and vegetarian they have something on the menu that will be good. If you want spice they can add it.
So after visiting the mountain gear shop nearby you can refresh your memories of your visit to the roof of the world by having some highland foods.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyautomuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burgaw, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am not adventurous, but my sister took my husband and I to Himalaya during our trip to see her in Ventura. She works just around the corner basically, and goes here alot. My husband enjoyed this as his first Indian experience, and I did as well as my second or third experience. The chutney was great. The fresh naan was superb.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Yak it up.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Love the yak meat. two thumbs up. Smiling faces with good authentic Nepalese food. I wouldnt mind going there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantoshNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was very excited to see a unique ethnic restaurant open up in Ventura. I finally visited this place with a friend over the weekend and definitely plan on going again. After much discussion and reading over the menu we decided on the momo appetizer, an eggplant dish, an okra based vegetable dish, and naan.

The momo was okay-I was expecting something different and was a little disappointed that they were basically potstickers. The eggplant dish was outstanding although a bit spicy considering we ordered in mild. The okra dish was very salty and when we mentioned that to the server he immedietely had the cook prepare a fresh dish with less salt for us. I love okra and have never had it served like this-it was amazing. The naan and mango lassi were very good as well.

Overall I really enjoyed the food and found the service to be outstanding. They seem eager to recommend dishes and talk about the food. I was very impressed with them replacing the dish for us as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTouristHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
1 review
“Superb food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The best Indian/Nepali food i have had in Ventura county.
Things i would recommend are
Tibetan Momos
Seekh Kabob

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing