We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, nice rooms....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, nice rooms....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel is in a prime location in downtown Ventura. Walking distance to nearby attractions, restaurants and nightlife. The included breakfast is rather good, and the rooms are large and comfortable. There is a nearby rail bridge that can cause quite a bit of noise and actually shook our windows, but that's hardly the hotel's fault. I would say that the service could have been more polite, since some actually bordered on rude. However, I don't ask for much out of hotels except a clean, quiet place to lay down for the night, and this spot certainly fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    232
    128
    58
    54
See reviews for
180
226
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Had a great overnight stay here with my friend when we went for a mini vacation in Ventura Beach. It wasn't a new hotel but the you can tell that it's really clean and they keep it tidy. It was walking distance to the beach which is why we booked it.

the amenities are great considering the price. We had a big LCD TV (56-inch, i believe). We got the 2 queen-bed room and the space was great. We had a hair dryer, a safe, fridge and hot iron.

I love their complimentary breakfast too. Good money on the price of our stay.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweettak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the only Country Inn where I've stayed that was not built as a Country Inn. It is obvious this place used to be another chain. Partly because of that, you will not get the quality you're expecting. No cookies at the front desk like every other location has.

WiFi was not working when I stayed here. This is completely unacceptable in my opinion. It is 2014, and for what you pay, you are well within your rights to expect it to just work. Staff were aware of the problem, but had no idea if or when it would be fixed. Because of this issue, I had to find another hotel so I could get my work done. Needless to say, that was an immense hassle. (There was no wired ethernet in the room.)

Parking is terrible. You'll be lucky to get a space in the dingy underground area, but more likely you'll be forced into one of the disconnected side lots. Other people have noted how loud it is here. They aren't kidding. The building is VERY close to the 101 freeway with a sad concrete bridge blocking the view of the ocean.

Breakfast was below average for Country Inn. There were no DIY waffles, nothing like yogurt and granola. I'm amused at the other reviews lauding their "free breakfast." It isn't free; you ARE paying for it. I was given a meal ticket, which is another odd thing, and indicates to me that they've had problems with people wandering in off the street and helping themselves. It wouldn't surprise me in this sketchy neighborhood.

The room was reasonably clean, but dated. Carpet was stained in one place and the bathroom paint was cracked and peeling. Leaky, old shower head. The A/C unit was loud and rattled like crazy.

If you're looking for a cheap place in this area, this one may be acceptable. Just know what you're getting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our room was quite large, with a couch, refrigerator, two sinks, and flat screen TV. The hotel had a number of useful amenities, including an excellent free breakfast (with eggs, meat etc), free parking, a coin-op guest laundry (only one washer & dryer though), and free beer and wine at happy hour. Our room faced away from the freeway and was reasonably quiet.

A few negatives were the weird, flickering fluorescent lights of varying shades of yellow throughout the hotel common areas, and the ridiculously slow and noisy elevator.

Overall though, considering the price we paid (about $80), I feel the amenities make this hotel an excellent value.

Room Tip: The north side faces away from the freeway and is reasonably quiet (no water views though). Rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bce525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

the whole experience was just seamless, staff was accomadating polite and informative,the rooms were immaculate, very comfortable and spacious, it was very centally located which is wonderfulyi would stay again and again, the room rate was very economica,for what you get,im a very satisfied customerl

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Everything looks old and outdated, not so friendly staff and the free food was not good enough to eat for free. I would definitely stay somewhere else next time. The only thing I did like was the tv and the air conditioning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank independent1_noa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Let's start with the "B" health dept rating I saw posted in the breakfast area. Not a good sign -- they probably don't keep something hot enough (I didn't ask). My understanding is that for the health dept to give out a "B" instead of an "A," things aren't adding up to a good standard of cleanliness.

That being said, the rest of our stay was well above average. The staff is friendly, the rooms are well-equipped and spacious, and the location is fabulous. It's an easy walk to either downtown Ventura or the pier/beach. We had a room facing town -- so no views there -- but our niece had a room with a partial ocean view and balcony. But her balcony was noisy because of being near the freeway and the view was obstructed, so don't expect much as far as that goes.

Would I stay there again? Yes, because it's a perfect location and the rooms are nice. But I would plan to eat breakfast out because of that B rating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mf-sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Address: 298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing