We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST KEPT SECRET!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Try our Business Package
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST KEPT SECRET!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am a local resident of Ventura and this is the best kept secret for a special mini-vacation as a couple, family and/or road trip stop! I see people writing about the train and 101 freeway being behind this place and how that may be a noise problem but if you are from here like I am then anywhere you go in beautiful Historic Downtown Ventura you WILL hear the train. The 101 freeway seems to be a white noise that gets cancelled out by the AIR CONDITIONER or HUGE FLATSCREEN T.V. or kids in the room. My 2 young children actually enjoyed seeing the train go by on the bride just outside our window. We ALL enjoyed the HAPPY HOUR BY THE POOL AND SPA along with the BIG FLATSCREEN T.V. in the SPACIOUS "DINING ROOM" common area. BREAKFAST IS SERVED DAILY AND IS EXCELLENT! INCREDIBLE STAFF THROUGHOUT!! FREE WIFI (no matter how many devices)! BATHTUB FOR KIDS WAS A PLUS! GOING BACK SOON!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferSabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly but the hotel is in need of maintenance. It was fine for one night and only 2 blocks from downtown and a block from the pier. I would not stay here again, though. Tried to buy a water and the vending machine ate my dollar and nothing worked. Snack machine out of order. I heard from another hotel guest that he tried the vending machine on a different floor and that didn't work either. He also said the ice machine was broken. Breakfast had more options than I expected but the taste of the hot food was poor. Eggs were gross, bacon was especially gross. The hash browns were ok. I was pleasantly surprised at the waffle station- that was actually pretty good. I didn't feel the need to put a do no disturb sign on the door because I was only staying one night and was planning to check out right after breakfast but that didn't stop the maid from trying to open the door (without knocking) at 8:30am! When the dead bolt stopped them they walked away for 5 minutes then came back and knocked. Seriously?!
Also, I asked for the side of the building facing away from the train tracks, as recommended by other users, and still woke up from the train's horn in the morning. The view was pretty, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks, put up your "do not disturb sign" no matter wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to read your constructive comments so we can continually improve our hotel. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel after reading the reviews.
I had a room overlooking the motorway which is not really a problem.
The room itself was dark and a bit dingy, but just acceptable.
The breakfast was very good and I must say the breakfast staff worked very hard.
I was however disappointed with the drinks happy hour, my wife and I had one drink and when we tried to get another at 6.59 we were barked at NO I AM CLOSED by the lady serving but continued to talk to local people, she continued talking for over 10 minutes and we were unable to get another drink. Bar closes at 7pm. Her customer services skills are poor.
I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjfkdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and get the best service. We hope for another opportunity in the near future to meet your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

While Easytobook.com was an absolute disaster - I clicked on the wrong date, couldn't get through on the phone - busy busy busy. DO NOT USE THEM. I had to pay for the room when I arrived.

My room was clean with lots of space and soft pillows. However, it did not have a fresh smell. Though it was a non smoking room, it seem to have a smoke residue. They had a full breakfast, and it is very centrally located. Though it was by the train tracks and freeway, I didn't notice much noise, though admittedly, I can tune things out. It was one of the lowest prices I could find and it was worth it.

Only problem is that I had to pay twice because of my error and ABSOLUTELY ZERO service from Easytobook.com

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otter Rock, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was surprised how.much Iliked this place. It definitely seems dated and is not a luxury hotel but it was really quiet (considering the location). The people were friendly..the breakfast was great..the location to restaurants and downtown Ventura was close. They also had a "happy hour". Free beer and wine and snacks...This for $80...senior discount. The bed and pillows were great. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hart13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First, let me say that if your looking for a four star hotel, this is not the place for you. If your looking for a good 2.5 star that does it well, then read on. Arrived late afternoon and checked in with no problems. Got a king room on the 3rd floor facing the freeway, train tracks and ocean. I had read from previous reviews that rooms facing the freeway were loud. I didn't mind hearing the noise and knew it in advance. Although the room was a little out of date, it was large, clean and comfortable. It appears that they care about their rooms and try hard to maintain them and keep them in tip top shape. Room had a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and all the comforts of home. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was a nice treat and offered scrambled eggs, hash browns, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy along with oatmeal, waffles, an array of bagels and breads. Lots of tasty coffee and juices for you to enjoy. This was my first stay at this hotel but will not be my last. I recommend booking on-line to save money. Why stay at the C.P. on the other side of the freeway for almost double the price? This was a good find and I recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't like the noise of the freeway, be sure to request a room facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DADuv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirltand, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed here many times. It's a block from the main downtown area and walking distance to the beach. The rooms are very spacious, clean and the breakfast in the morning is good- eggs, biscuits, fruit, cereal, juices etc. Area is safe. I've never had any problems even though the downtown area does have a lot of homeless people walking around.

Room Tip: The train line runs on the ocean side so I choose the opposite side to avoid that noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbunny108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#4 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Carlson, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing