We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an enjoyable 5 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had an enjoyable 5 day stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked threw Hotwire 2 days prior. We were driving to Santa Paula daily for family business, so the location next to Hwy 101 was excellent. Reviewers spoke of Hwy and train noise on beach facing rooms. We had first floor room and I honestly have to think any noise complaints must come from very light sleepers. The bathrooms were a little dated but very serviceable and most importantly clean. Bedding and pillow were good, bedspreads dated but clean. The frig in room worked great, plenty of hot water, AC cooled the room within 10 minutes. Speaking of rooms, they were large with a single sink bowl in bathroom and a single sink bowl outside of bathroom. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Pool and hot-tub were clean everyday, pool furniture was dated but serviceable. There was a free city run downtown shuttle service though we didn't use because a variety of bars and restaurants were within walking distance. we are not foodies, but the breakfast was excellent. Fruit bowl, hot oatmeal, plain yogurt and usual breakfast foods. Two business computers in lobby worked well, one had WIN8 the other had WIN7.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    233
    129
    59
    57
See reviews for
181
227
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

In town for a concert at the Ventura Theater (only a block away). Clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, fast check-in. Slightly dated decor and appliances in room, but everything seemed fresh and clean...no funky smells. Bathroom was exceptionally clean on arrival thank you. Rooms located just off the central elevator were quiet with the exception of a few foot stomps heard from the room directly above. Freeway noise was not a problem despite its proximity. 2 computers in the lobby were free for guest use. Free breakfast was only just average but the service was polite and attentive. Walking distance two blocks to downtown Ventura and Main St.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalNative1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had never stayed in Ventura before and were kind of forced to do it; because all the hotels near are one night destination in Carpeteria were full. Ventura is an old town that is being revived place by place. A mixture of old hippies and young college types. The hotel is in the old part of town, and not great looking from a tired entrance.Once inside the people at the front desk were great and the room was large and clean.We saw a lot of families checking in, probably because of the hotel's closeness to the beach and downtown restaurants. We had read about the closeness to the FWY and the train and asked for a room facing away from the beach. It was quite and never heard the train.

If you are a light sleeper ask for the rooms facing the town. We had breakfast at the hotel as did most of the people staying there it was very good.
The hotel also has a happy hour but we did not attend. Not a 4 or 5 star hotel but very nice for our needs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms were very clean. We had a good breakfast. Nice hot tub. Easy walk to the pier and to restaurants downtown. The Happy house selections were limited but adequate. I'd stay here again. The staff was very responsive. It's obviously an older property but they are working hard to update it where they can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalCoupleOrange_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed hear one night and they gave me a room with a beach view but it was right on top of the freeway. I heard the cars all night and morning. The room was clean but a bit dated the microwave and fridge looked like they were new in the 80.s. The room had a big open space were a table may have and a odd balcony. The highlight of my stay was the breakfast i was able to feed my whole family. If you decide to stay here ask for a room not facing the freeway and book ahead of time.

Room Tip: rooms on freeway side are loud all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We travel often to visit family in the area and always end up here for a few simple reasons: nicely appointed, clean and newly remodeled accommodations; Happy Hour!; morning breakfast; and walking distance to all the sites in Ventura. Close to the beach, biking trails, the Ventura pier, great restaurants and the quaint downtown area with lively nightlife. Traveling to Ventura soon? Don't miss this great place to stay--great for families, too!

Room Tip: The hotel is located next to the Southern Pacific train trestle! Stay on the east/north side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickicampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

For now this hotel will have to remain a 3 but the improvements that are in process will definately make this a place to stay again, our room which was already remodeled was nice, clean, and the bed was great.

Room Tip: Great locatation, with in walking distance to a nice downtown area offering what every you need, als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#11 of 23 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001-2835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing