We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at on our West Coast Road Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel we stayed at on our West Coast Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the nicest AND the cheapest place we stayed on a 2 week road trip up the coast. Their service is excellent. Breakfast is great. It is easy walking distance to the beach (in fact we could even see it from our room). You also get complementary use of a local gym nearby, which is way better than a crummy hotel gym. Ventura is a cute little town and the hotel is only a few blocks away from the main street. Couldn't believe the place was such a bargain!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmb522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    206
    110
    44
    41
See reviews for
164
186
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overpriced, outdated, not clean. Balcony is not a balcony, it's an enclosed useless space. Rooms are large with a nice, large flat screen TV, breakfast is real deal with hot food, but that is end of good things. Train goes right by the windows in the middle of the night. Freeway noise is constant as this place literally sits on freeway. Parking is terrible if you arrive after 6PM. Elevator broken , had to use stairs - stairways filthy, even had beer cans on floor one night we returned after 8PM. Ice machine only gave about 10 ice cubes any time we used it. They don't replace glasses if you stay a few days and use up the cheap plastic ones they provide. Bathroom fixtures have finish worn off. Very dated in need of upgrade and cleaning. Had a floor lamp over in corner by itself, but no sitting chair to go with it. If its upgraded, hate to have seen it before. Stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you stay here, insist on room that does not face towards freeway. Lose ocean view, but gain quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck5422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room and the facility with our staff to ensure that everything is up to Country Inn and Suites by Carlson standards. We do hope for another opportunity in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The elevator is an issue. It was out of order both nights of our stay. (They did have it working during the days.) We were able to take the stairs. The breakfast was good, and the staff was very nice. The rooms were fine, although the "balcony" was a little unusual. We booked 2 rooms for two nights for a wedding in Santa Barbara. The price was better and the drive was not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped here overnight on my way back from the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. Nothing particularly fancy, but well maintained and clean. Got a prepaid rate of only about $100/night before taxes.

Little awkard to find, as it shares its entrance with that of the southbound entrance to the 101 freeway, but that also makes it an easy-on if you are going back south.

Room was quite large with a sitting area with a couch. If I remember correctlly it had a refrigerator as well, but dont' hold me to it.

There are some good restaurants on S. Calfornia street only about 2-3 blocks north of the hotel so you've got choices of a place to eat. The complimentary breakfast was not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having stayed here several times through the years, I was pleased to see the hotel and rooms have been refreshed and updated. New carpet throughout, and new furniture. Comfortable, clean room. Friendly check in staff. Breakfast very good, with friendly helpful staff making sure all needs were met. Yes, there is the train and freeway, but lucky for us, we are sound sleepers, so no bother there. Will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is older. Hallways and lobby have no air conditioner smells damp. Very noisy room facing freeway try to get other side of Hall. The one elevator is used by the staff that cleans and maintains hotel as well as guests seems like it needs maintenance. I used stairs half the time. Breakfast is good. Location to downtown is good. Beach access is close but this part of beach is very dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slm_novimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were decent, but the halls smelled damp and as if they tried to musk the smell of depression with off brand Lysol. Of course the lobby smells of old Indian food, and the staff members are extremely rude and yell all night to where you can't even understand what's going on. We won't be staying here again I'd rather dig a ditch out in the field somewhere and lie than deal with this service again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We value all of our guests and everyone's opinion. We hope for another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#6 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#9 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Address: 298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing