We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, clean and quiet”
Review of Amanzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanzi Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was a pleasure to open the door for the first time and see a big, clean room. Although we didn't need two queen sized beds, we got them and a comfortable recliner. The room was modern and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were perfect for a good night's sleep. The breakfast was very good, including sausage, eggs, bacon, waffles and assorted fruit and juices.
Very good hotel for vacationers or business travelers. Price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khub79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 670 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all the staff is friendly. The balcony view isn't bad. There is a steel train trestle. A semi obstructed view of the beautiful pacific ocean. On the down side The 101 freeway is about 15 feet off the balcony. The anto noise is loud. Almost as loud as the 3 AM Freight train. An ocean view for less than a $100 this is what you can expect. Over all the room is average.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iskidily-odo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was a little unsure when booking this hotel because of the reviews on the noise from the freeway. Sure enough, the hotel is literally on the edge of the 101 freeway. I am a light sleeper so we showed up a little early and asked for a room away from the freeway and our stay was GREAT!! Walk two (short) blocks and you're in the middle of town with lots of shops and a ton of restaurants. On the last day, I walked half block to Thompson street, then one block to Ash (walk right and cross the train tracks) and found the foot bridge that all the locals were using that takes you over the freeway and right to the pier and beach. The sunset was beautiful and we though of dining at the restaurant on the pier, but had planned to eat in town so we walked back after sunset. The rooms are big and there was also a refrigerator and microwave in our room which is big plus for me. There is also a complimentary breakfast that's COMPLETE with bacon and eggs, fruits pastries and cooked oatmeal. I love this place BUT not sure if I could take the noise on the freeway side. AC/Heater unit is a little noisy in rooms. I will stay here again went visiting this area.

Room Tip: Request an inside room, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We needed a short 3-day getaway, and also wanted to stay relatively close to home, so Ventura filled the bill perfectly. Our room was immaculate, and ready when we arrived to check in. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and huge - we loved the hard bed - we booked the king extra large room and it was perfect for our needs. Aaron, the breakfast attendant, and Jackie, the "Happy Hour" lady were both extremely efficient and attentive, being certain that everything was fresh, hot and tasty. We were astounded that the breakfast was SO sumptuous. We counted at least 19 different items. The maids were amazingly fast, courteous and thorough. The front desk staff was also top-notch, and were VERY good at baking chocolate chip cookies! They were right on top of all of our requests.There is an EXCELLENT restaurant (The Vagabond) within a very short walking distance. We will DEFINITELY be staying here again!!

Room Tip: The "ocean view" is through a train trestle.... We recommend the "boring" view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chats C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Front desk was not very happy to see us but it was Thanksgiving so...there's that. As our kids were going to sleep we called down to see if there was a corkscrew we could borrow so we could enjoy a holiday toast on the balcony together. Front desk said no. This didn't sit right with me as I knew they hosted a happy hour every night so I called back and pushed on that a bit and the woman said we could bring the wine down and open it. 5 minutes later she called and "suggested we hurry" bc the bartender was getting ready to leave. My husband went down with the wine and she had left. Are you kidding? So he walked to a nearby liquor store and bought one.

Otherwise: nice bedding, clean room, decent breakfast.

Oh- if you're sensitive to noise- the train goes by and is audible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank SDAllieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Amanzi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I have addressed your comments with my staff and we agree that having corkscrews available for our guests is the best thing moving forward.

We appreciate your comments and will use it to better our operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a lovely old town! Quite quaint. There are big soulless resort hotels along the Northern beach but you are well out of town. We had a good look round this neat appealing town. Hotel choice seemed good but closer inspection revealed some disappointments. We settled on Country Inn as we could easily walk into town. We had a balcony view of the hills on the third floor. Beware, the rooms on the coastal side are next to the railroad and the freeway. Complimentary wine and beer between 5 and 7 p.m. but they are offered in the bare breakfast room. Free acceptable breakfast. You could do a lot worse than this in Ventura !

Room Tip: Balconies only on third floor. Always ask for town side.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bridboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#10 of 23 in Ventura
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Hotel

Address: 298 S Chestnut St, Ventura, CA 93001-2835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $89 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Hotel is located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara in the coastal town of Ventura, California. Recently introduced as the only boutique hotel in Ventura. The Amanzi presents a contemporary ambiance with the warmth of hospitality. From carefully selected room amenities & guest services which enhance business travel or leisure trips, the hotel (formerly Country Inn & Suites by Carlson) offers the ideal location for your California trip. Complimentary hot breakfast, WiFi access, evening Manager's Happy Hour and spacious guest rooms (full renovations completed by winter 2017!) add value for travelers looking to enjoy all that the area has to offer. Stay comfortably as you rejuvenate at the beach, gather for business events at nearby venues, or tour the Pacific Coastline! The Amanzi Hotel is located right off the 101 Ventura Freeway, walking distance from the beach, Downtown Main Street and City Hall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amanzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing