We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner rolls”

Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill
Ranked #19 of 425 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: VENTURA RESTAURANT: DINING, CATERING, TAKE-OUT AND GIFT CARDS Choose Wood Ranch for Superb Dining at Moderate Prices. Among Ventura restaurants, Wood Ranch stands out as a great American restaurant, serving savory steaks , our nationally renowned Tri-Tip, as well as our highly praised chicken and fresh fish. We are also nationally recognized for our Kids' Menu, salads, appetizers, desserts, as well as our full-service bar.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner rolls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've been to the one in ventura a couple of times and it's ok, the best one is in camarillo or moorpark. Probably just because of different cooks, but the food in the ventura location isn't the best for some reason. Great customer service in every location!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank kieltysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
810 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Best steak in ten years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This cozy, local-friendly steakhouse served me the best rib-eye that I have tasted in a long while. Perfectly seared on the outside, and done to the exact "rare-plus-to-medium-rare" state on the interior. The sweet potato fries were also done to perfection. Portions were adequate and service was good. Definitely a place to return to!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beware: immense servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Super barbecue sandwiches, fast service and ambiance you can cut with a knife.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
“Great Service at the Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I usually eat alone at the bar and honestly, its the best seat in town for food, drink and a great view of the TV for sports.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuroraBorealis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would like to like it; just can't.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

When Wood Ranch first opened up at the far end of the Pacific View Mall parking lot, the crowds of people waiting for tables and the wonderful barbecue aroma as you drove past made one think that this was gonna be a fantastic dinner experience. When we finally went for the first time, we went a little late in the evening thinking it might not be so busy then. Not only was it still hopping, there was a large table behind us that started filling up with about 15 people. Ordering our meal in a hurry in hopes to get our dinner before the large party ordered, we selected baby back ribs, and our friends ordered steak and chicken. Can't speak for our friends meal, but the baby back ribs were BURNT. Okay, so we just don't have to go back, right? Family member decides she wants to have her birthday dinner there. Well, we will try it one more time and see. Nope; burnt ribs again. And the prices are a little spendy for what you get, so we won't be back. Too bad, because it has a nice vibe, decor is inviting. Service is pretty good, but we just can't get past the burnt ribs. Would rather go wait in line at a certain food court and get my ribs in styrofoam, thank you very much!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Casitas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing