We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vintage style motel”
Review of Rex Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rex Motel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Vintage style motel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I had such a great time here. The room was clean, smelled nice, spacious and the Room came standard with mini-fridge and microwave. Employee I encountered was helpful and nice. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here if they're on a budget because the location could not be more ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel has free wi-fi, the rooms have a kitchenette with fridge and microwave, the bathroom and bedrooms are spacious. For the rest, the place is very run-down. Despite the several amenities, what I didn't like about this hotel is that it is very poorly kept, everything is old and, being cheap in the first place, it looks very shabby. That still wouldn't be a problem if not for the cost: is definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Sebastopol, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was quiet and it is close to the ocean front (by car) and many restaurants, stores, etc.
When I called about booking the reservation the woman was very abrupt w/me on the phone but when I stayed the woman who worked there was extremely pleasant and helpful about directions, etc. It is definitely a $50/night motel, nothing spectacular. But if you are travelling on a budget it was fine, big room and nice TV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cami c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have had a great experience with Rex Motel, they rooms are very clean, the parking lot is great you have your own covered parking and a parking space in front of your motel room, some of the rooms have flat screen TV's. The people there are very friendly, and happy to accomodate your stay there, your are very close to everything, and your about 2 miles down from dowtown Ventura. I have been in alot of high end Hotels and I have had some of the worst stays at these places, staff with bad attitudes, room not clean, however this place VERY Nice! _Joe M.

Room Tip: Can call in advance if want the rooms with the flat screen TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great location.... close to the beach and alot of good dining. This was our second time staying at this hotel and it was once again a great experience. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asnagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

good value for money. Nice big private room. very clean. Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Right in the middle of ventura and if you have a car everything is just a minute away.
Very quiet environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at this simple spot before when we just need a spot to sleep over night. The hotel is spartan at best, but will do in a pinch and is cheap. This time the hotel was the same. BUT, I left a bottle of wine, a bag with 4 huge home grown cucumbers and a whole flat of home grown tomatoes in the mini fridge when we left. I called from about 1 hr. away to ask if they had found it. As these items were to be a gift, I was willing to drive back to retrieve them. The desk person went to go check,but when I called back, she said all she found was the wine. The flat of tomatoes was on top of the wine, so they would have had to be moved to find the wine. The person repeatedly said there was nothing else in the refrigerator. I think they had tomato curry for lunch with a cucumber salad. We wont be staying there again no matter what the other hotels cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,094 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Motel

Property: Rex Motel
Address: 2406 E. Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93003
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex Motel is located in Ventura, California right off of Highway 101. Rex Motel is also just minutes from the beach—5 if you’re driving, 15 if you’re on foot. Our convenient location makes for easy access to great shopping and dining around Ventura. Make Rex Motel your Ventura, California lodging and our friendly staff will take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing