We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf Rodeo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for a music festival and wanted a hotel close to the beach. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to the event which was so convenient. Our room was really nice and the bed was super comfy. We would for sure stay here again

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank lorretta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear lorretta5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience of your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you found the staff friendly and helpful and that the location was so convenient to the event you were attending. We hope you will come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 662 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spent just one night on our way up the PCH. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Couple of things prevented a higher rating: 1) hotel layout is strange, difficult to reach the lobby from the SE side of the hotel 2) have to pay extra to park as a guest 3) Noise (loud guests) in the hallway comes right through the door (or under it). State Park just across the street and very close to the beach. In house bar and restaurant were adequate. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Menace03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Menace03,

We are glad to know your quick, overnight stay was an enjoyable one for you. We appreciate you pointing out that our staff was friendly and helpful and that your room accommodations were to your liking. We can completely understand and share your frustration about the noise level of other guests who do not respect the fact that they are in close proximity to other individuals who may be trying to sleep or enjoy some quiet time. Unfortunately, we have no control over this. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope we can welcome you back again some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location was excellent!

The positives about this hotel. The restaurant manager and his staff are EXCELLENT! They deserve 5 stars.

The negatives about this hotel. Everything will cost you extra. You have to pay for regular television, there is no mini refrigerator in the room, there was no soap in the bathrooms, the carpet was a mess, there was no complimentary coffee in the lobby AND the mattress were noisy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YourAverageJoe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear YourAverageJoe88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive and negative thoughts of our hotel. We are glad to know you were happy with the location and that you enjoyed your meal and excellent service at our restaurant, Pacifico. We apologize for housekeeping issues you encountered and items such as soap should be left in the rooms on a daily basis. Requests such as a mini refrigerator can be provided if requested and available. Our rooms do come equipped with coffee makers for your convenience and each room includes a 32-inch flat-screen TVs with premium movie channels as well as CNN and ESPN, free of charge. Our front desk is always ready to assist and help if any questions arise and provide what you need to make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope you will come back again some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Small concierge lounge with no view, but does offer the typicall Marriott amenities. The rooms are decent and the lobby looks modern. Lastly, this place is dangerously close to In & Out (literally across the street) LOL

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Deana I,

It makes us very happy that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for July 4th holiday weekend for 3 days. Loved it! This is night and day compared to sister hotel Residence Inn in Oxnard (which is the opposite of good)!

We come here for July 4th holiday each year and have stayed at the Crown Plaza, Sheraton in Ventura; also Resident Inn (Oxnard). This hotel is now our favorite hotel, lobby is spacious and updated, never felt crowded even though hotel is full for holiday weekend. Room is spacious and updated. I'm a Marriott Platinum member, so I have access to Executive Lounge on Friday (lounge is closed for the weekend) where we got free full breakfast buffet, juice, soda and water (Scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, waffles, bagels). Great value. On the weekends, because lounge is closed, got coupons for continental breakfast buffet in the restaurant (but an upgrade for $8 to include eggs and bacon/sausage).

Convenient Location: Right off the freeway and across the street from In n out Burger. Short walk from the beach. We were going to the Ventura Fairgrounds and hotel was close.

Parking: Plenty of parking and well lit. Always found a parking spot. Hotel even has valet parking and full service bell staff to help with the luggage.

Pet Friendly: Had our dogs with us, hotel welcome the pets. There's a doggie poop area in the back and poop bags for us to use. Hotel keeps the dog poop area clean and smells clean.

Compared to other nearby hotels:
1) Sheraton: I am a Platinum SPG member and I like the Sheraton a lot, but the last time I stayed here, while the lobby was updated, the rooms were not as new but much larger. Hotel is also not full service, so no bell staff to help with the luggage or valet parking. Location is close to the harbor but not as close to the beach or Ventura Fair Grounds.

2) Crown Plaza: Location is closest to the the Fairgrounds and right on the beach walk. Lobby and rooms are updated. Biggest downside is the parking, on site lot is very small and hotel does not given guest preference in parking, and beach goers can simply pay to use the lot. So on weekends, had to park in the parking structure across the walkway from the hotel. It was just annoying. Also no full service bell man and valet. Biggest plus is this hotel is walking distance from downtown and beach front.

3) Residence inn River Ridge Oxnard: Stayed here several years ago and never will again. This is the farthest from Ventura and while updated, staff here is the worst. The rooms are spread out over separate buildings. Last time we stayed here, we were given rooms in a faraway building on the second floor with stairs and no elevator. Luggage cart only in main building lobby so we had to lug our luggage pretty far from the parking lot. We had to leave some luggage at the base of the stairs while we carried other luggage up, in the short 5 mins, my briefcase with laptop at the base of the stairs was stolen. Hotel staff did not care (and apparently there was a theft earlier that evening and they didn't tell us not to leave our luggage unguarded even for one minute), I never heard from the hotel for any apology. This year, had a banquet dinner here and the food was terrible (the "steak" was more like rawhide), our friends who reserved a handicap accessible room here (i.e. no second floor room with stairs) arrived late (since they drove down from the Bay Area) and since hotel is full, hotel only had a second floor room left available. So our 80 year old friend who walks with a cane had to go up and down the stairs daily (it took two of use to help her go up and down those stairs). Management and staff just told her hotel was full and that was all they had even though she booked a handicap room. Unbelievable!!! Stay away from this hotel.

So for around the same price, Marriott Ventura is our top choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Luvtosafari,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your 4th of July stay with us. We thank you for being a Marriott Platinum member and we are glad our hotel was able to provide the service and amenities you have come to expect from Marriott. Our location, pet friendly policy and excellent customer service are just a few of the reasons people choose to stay with us and we are glad you have made it your top choice to stay when in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is okay. The location is good. Just 5 minutes to the beach. The beach is nice. The Harbor village is a five minutes drive.

The pool in the hotel is a bit small.

There is a starbucks in the hotel, so that is good. The room is of a nice size and the beds were very comfortable.

Overall a nice place to stay. It;s not that lavish like other Mariott.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnaanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear fnaanurag,

We are happy to know you had a nice stay with us recently. Glad to know that your comfortable room, the location and The Starbucks in the hotel all helped to make your stay with us more enjoyable. We hope you will come back to stay again with us some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After a couple of years, i was surprised to return to the Marriott and find that it hasn't been updated. It's getting pretty tired. Rooms are still nice and big ;-) but as nearly everyone else notes, the charge to park and some of the other charges are a bit much. I notice that the management responds to every comment a little defensively - "Indeed we are competitive with other hotels in Ventura" -- the Crowne Plaza does NOT charge for parking, and even if it did, people aren't complaining that the Marriott is different than other hotels in this respect...they are just complaining that $13 to park is ridiculous when parking is not at a premium for hotel guests. Ventura is not exactly Santa Barbara and one wouldn't expect all kinds of premium charges, IMO.

The service and staff are very friendly, room service was quick and very good.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jw92869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear jhw516,

Thank you for posting your review of our property. We do our absolute best to maintain Marriott's high standards for service and hotel accommodations and we are glad you found everything to your liking. Our hotel fees, including the parking fees are consistent and competitive with other full-service hotels including the above mentioned property. We apologize if you did not feel you were receiving value for your money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd., Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $120 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our hotel in Ventura, California offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing