We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too bad ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 18, 2014

it was dirty outside -- and the room next door was noisy and while I waited to get my room at the front desk, another guy walked up, paid the same amount and got a better room in front of me. I was disappointed and felt I could have gotten a better room myself but they told me it was booked up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We are incredibly sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. This is definitely not an example of Marriott's high standards of hospitality and for this we do apologize. While we are not able to control the noise level of other guests in our hotel, we do apologize if you felt that you were not given proper treatment at our front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 662 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was here for a Gordon Conference and thought that the hotel was pretty nice. Very quiet and the room was in good shape. The staff was incredibly friendly, in fact most of the maids said hello to me every time they saw me, which is very unusual. Conference area was nice and the food was decent. Only a block from the beach and an easy drive to downtown Ventura. In-and-Out was across the street. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarkSolstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear DarkSolstice,

We are glad that you had a good time here during your conference and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel has nice common areas but the rooms need some refreshing. The fitness center needs a real update - the machines are old and the ceilings too low. The concierge level is nice. The location is good and the staff are helpful. Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpkehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Dpkehoe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We are happy to let you know that we are in the process of planning for a hotel update later in the year so we hope you will return and see what we've done with the place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location worked out well for me as I was in town for business meetings. I am a loyal Marriott patron, but was a little disappointed with my stay here. The hotel looks as though there was a recent update to the lobby area, however the hotel still seems old. The rooms were a little worn out and would benefit from a make-over.

Didn't get a chance to hit the fitness center, but did go for along run around the area, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear creece007,

Thank you for your loyal Marriott patronage. We appreciate that you stayed at our hotel here in Ventura and that it was a convenient location for your business meetings. We apologize if our accommodations did not live up to your expectations for Marriott's high standards of hospitality. We do our best to maintain our facilities and try to ensure that our associates provide that added warmth and personalized service to turn a good stay into a great one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The staff I found to be very fine, very helpful. The property is getting dated, but not
seedy. The room is adequate, but there was a ten dollar charge for wifi. There was no refrigerator in the room. Pleasant bar area. I was part of a group and the food was excellent, even for those with special dietary requirements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr. Sam Platts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Dr. Sam Platts,


We appreciate that you took time from your busy schedule to post your review of our hotel. We are very glad that you found the food for your group acceptable -- even when it came to special dietary restrictions. Our associates work hard to ensure that special requests are always accommodated as much as possible. We hope to welcome you back again one day here in Ventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel-open and airy. The rooms are large, and the staff is wonderful. The restaurant serves great food, and there is a wonderful ambience to the entire property. Parking is extra. We were very close to where we were visiting, and the hotel is very near to the ocean and to restaurants. This is the second time that we have stayed there, and we will definitely look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOHCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear GEOHCleveland_OH,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. Every one of our associates appreciates it when guests like you take the time to recognize them for their efforts. We are happy to have you here as a loyal guest and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Well appointed hotel with great staff! Stayed for two nights and strolled from the hotel to the beach front. Enjoyed the ambience and close proximity to the beach, pier and downtown. Relaxing stay and a great start to our California holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleasureseeker2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear pleasureseeker2235,

We are so glad that you found our hotel a great start to your California holiday. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and sharing your experiences with our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd., Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $120 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our hotel in Ventura, California offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing