We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a Marriott”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place was just okay for a quick stay. The pool area was small and really congested with kids during our stay, so we didn't even bother.
Room was clean, pretty standard. Every item was charged. Not even a free bottle of water in the room. I felt the name Ventura Beach Marriott was misleading, because there was not even a faint view of the beach from anywhere in the hotel.
We had to drive downtown to check out the sights. It looked like there were cuter places with a better location. Oh, and did I mention the parking fees??? I thought that was a bit excessive, as there was plenty of parking spaces around the property, unlike some locations in California.
I wouldn't return here. Next time I would be a little more adventurous and seek out a better deal.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfoleychula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear dfoleychula,

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other members. While it is never our intention to disappoint any guest, we do want to point out that our hotel is, in fact, the closest property to the Pacific Ocean in Ventura (just about 200 steps away) and our rates are competitive with full-service hotels as opposed to limited service hotels in the area that offer the same level of location, facilities, and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    274
    137
    38
    24
See reviews for
171
178
28
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orange county, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The location of this Marriott may not be the best (not that it is bad!- it's only minutes from Ventura Harbor) so we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The lobby is gorgeous, huge,and impeccably decorated looking as if it was newly done. The room was what you expect for a Marriott, perfect accommodations. We were only here one night so we didn't use many of the amenities such as the pool or the fitness center, but we had breakfast, which was nothing too fancy but again, just what you've come to expect when staying at this hotel chain - good service and good food. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taragrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Taragrl,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review! We're sorry that you were only with us for one night and didn't have the opportunity to enjoy all of our facilities and amenities and we hope that you can come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My go-to place when I'm in the area visiting with friends. Very clean, staff is always friendly. Lost my glasses here one time and they kept them safe for me!! It's a little pricey but always worth it. There is a separate parking fee that I think is a little ridiculous, but overall, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Beatrice C,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of our hotel and we are thrilled that we were able to find and keep your eyeglasses safe for you! We love to hear when guests return to our property again and again and we are glad that we are always making a positive impression and you find our value for dollar worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A very nice hotel near the beach in Ventura, CA. Be advised -- the beach is about a three block walk away; not a big deal if you can walk, but this isn't ON the beach. The harbor area is about two miles away, so this isn't immediately adjacent to any attraction other than the beach and its associated state park.

The price on our weekend visit wasn't cheap, particularly when you consider all the added fees (parking, internet fees and local taxes), and when you consider that this isn't quite on the beach like the hotel name implies, we felt just a bit burned. Its a good location NEAR but not NEXT TO Ventura attractions. You'll need a vehicle if going anywhere other than the beach.

The staff was friendly and helpful; the room was clean and nice; the restaurant had some good food options; and the bar area was nice and had some interesting cocktail options. Weird note: we asked them to defeather our room, and the brought us extra towels. (A follow-up call solved this problem.)

Room Tip: Ask for an interior courtyard room to get a view of the nice pool area. Otherwise -- the exterior v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrigley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jim T,

Thank you for posting your review of our property. We appreciate that you stayed with us and apologize if you were disappointed in the location. Our website clearly mentions that we are within walking distance of the beach and not right on the beach. We are, in fact, the closest hotel to the beach in Ventura and our rates are competitive with full-service brands that offer a similar location and full array of services. We apologize if your request to "defeather your room" was not handled correctly the first time, but we are glad that you contacted us again to make the situation right and we hope that your overall experience in Ventura was a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Only stayed overnight as a member of a school orientation trip. My room was large & spacious, and amenities were fine. Close to the beach (~8 minutes walk). You do have to pay for parking (my institution covered my fee) and wifi (only freely available in the lobby). For meals, the staff were accomodating to my food allergies, which was nice. Overall, a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleranon330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Dtwrub,

Thank you for staying at our hotel on your recent business trip and we are happy that we made your stay comfortable and "a nice experience." We definitely understand how food allergies can be a serious problem for people and we always try to be as accommodating as possible in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel because of its location to the fairgrounds for the recent Color Run. Very busy with several groups checking in but never felt that we had to wait for anything. Rooms were nice and had everything we needed. Ate in the restaurant and had great salads. Noise from hallways is a little loud although it was Friday night and we were up late. May bother some. Hotel was kind enough to allow us to stay an extra 1/2 hour to shower after the color run which I greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jaknix,

Thank you for posting your review of our property. Yes, the hotel was indeed quite busy as a result of the Color Run and we did our best to accommodate each and every guest who had special requests for this special event at the Fairgrounds near to the hotel. We are glad that you found our services and amenities to be to your liking and that your stay was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a tired facility. It's clean, mind you, but it's showing its age.

Two major complaints regard their policy of charging for handicapped parking and providing free Internet access in the lobby area only.

Avoid eating in the bar, too. It's pricey and not worth half of what they charge.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Foodie021,

Thank you for posting your honest review of our property. While we hope to undergo a renovation in 2014, we do our absolute best to maintain Marriott's high standards for service and cleanliness. Our hotel fees and food and beverage pricing are consistent with other full-service hotels which offer the same level of services, facilities, and amenities — including the parking fee which is charged for all guests. We apologize if you did not feel you were receiving value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Property: Ventura Beach Marriott
Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at the stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our Ventura hotel offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing