We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for short business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Only stayed overnight as a member of a school orientation trip. My room was large & spacious, and amenities were fine. Close to the beach (~8 minutes walk). You do have to pay for parking (my institution covered my fee) and wifi (only freely available in the lobby). For meals, the staff were accomodating to my food allergies, which was nice. Overall, a nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveleranon330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Dtwrub,

Thank you for staying at our hotel on your recent business trip and we are happy that we made your stay comfortable and "a nice experience." We definitely understand how food allergies can be a serious problem for people and we always try to be as accommodating as possible in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 669 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel because of its location to the fairgrounds for the recent Color Run. Very busy with several groups checking in but never felt that we had to wait for anything. Rooms were nice and had everything we needed. Ate in the restaurant and had great salads. Noise from hallways is a little loud although it was Friday night and we were up late. May bother some. Hotel was kind enough to allow us to stay an extra 1/2 hour to shower after the color run which I greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Jaknix,

Thank you for posting your review of our property. Yes, the hotel was indeed quite busy as a result of the Color Run and we did our best to accommodate each and every guest who had special requests for this special event at the Fairgrounds near to the hotel. We are glad that you found our services and amenities to be to your liking and that your stay was pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a tired facility. It's clean, mind you, but it's showing its age.

Two major complaints regard their policy of charging for handicapped parking and providing free Internet access in the lobby area only.

Avoid eating in the bar, too. It's pricey and not worth half of what they charge.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Foodie021,

Thank you for posting your honest review of our property. While we hope to undergo a renovation in 2014, we do our absolute best to maintain Marriott's high standards for service and cleanliness. Our hotel fees and food and beverage pricing are consistent with other full-service hotels which offer the same level of services, facilities, and amenities — including the parking fee which is charged for all guests. We apologize if you did not feel you were receiving value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is nothing out of the ordinary. The name is misleading, as it is not on the beach. A short walk and you can have your toes in the sand, but don't expect an ocean view. The hotel could use some acoustic help. There was a lot of exterior noise filtering into my room. The rooms are clean and well kept. The service staff is friendly and attentive. The draw back is the way that they want to charge for everything. Internet and parking costs extra. Why not just include it with the room rate? Please tell me one person that does not use the internet these days? Its not you, if you're reading this! Three stars and no more...

Room Tip: Try to get on the 4th floor. Free breakfast and happy hour Monday through Friday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Tom M,

We greatly appreciate your honest feedback of our property and we are sorry if there was outside noise which disturbed you. While it is is never our intention to disappoint any guest, we are, in fact, the closest hotel to the beach in Ventura. Our website actually states that we are "in close proximity to the beach" rather than "beachfront," as it is never our intention to falsely mislead any guest. Our pricing is also competitive with other full-service hotels which provide the same level of services, facilities, and amenities and our rate policies are standard throughout the Marriott full-service brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Ventura Marriott hotel.We were there for The Color Run. The hotel was really busy,there were a ton of College kids there for a Christian conference very respectful group.They didn't keep us up we didn't here anyone after 10:30pm. the Color run was at the fairgrounds. There is a walk and bike path that runs along the beach to the fairground it takes about 30 minutes to walk there. The Color Run was amazing I mean amazing. It will be there October 2014 at the same location. The hotel staff every single one of them were great. The front desk staff Alyssa and Kay stood out the most.Christian was a great bellman. we loved Nia she worked in the bar area. We ate breakfast and lunch at The Pacifico Restaurant it was very good. Our servers were very good Tamar and Debra. The whole stay was great.

Room Tip: I alway choose a room on the higher floors away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenMasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear ZenMasta,

It is our great pleasure to know that you had such a wonderful stay with us. People come to Ventura for all sorts of reasons and it always makes us happy to know that we helped make their trip that much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

While the exterior of the building is outdated and could use a makeover, the interior, rooms, concierge level food service, amenities, and location are excellent. A quality spot. Parking is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDH0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear TDH0605,

We greatly appreciate your review of our property. Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint any guest, we do want to note that our parking rates are competitive with other properties in the area — particularly since we are the closest hotel to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have visited this hotel frequently and, so far, have not been disappointed.
Large clean rooms, gym, pool and spa, restaurant with very good food,
excellent service, Starbuck coffee on premises. Walking distance to beach.

Room Tip: Third floor poolside rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Adrienne444,

We want to thank you for posting your review about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you have a consistently fine experience every time you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd., Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $191 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our hotel in Ventura, California offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing