We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed after first night because they had already charged me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only stayed after first night because they had already charged me.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Valet and bellman were very nice, professional and friendly. Great first impression - quickly negated by front desk staff. Front desk staff cold and unwelcoming. Charged me for entire stay (3 days) plus incidentals within 20 mins of checking in.

I have travelled extensively within the U.S. and quote a bit outside of the U.S. and have never encountered such a practice.

Food options minimal and not very heathy or tasty.

Was not a fan of Marriotts before, only stayed in them for business travel. Will continue to avoid and stick to crowne plazas, hiltons or Hyatts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobklop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Bobklop,

The Ventura Beach Marriott does not charge guests for their entire stay immediately upon check-in as you claim. While we ask for a credit card at the time of check-in, if you did, in fact, provide a debit card, a hold is put on your funds equivalent to the entire stay so that we can make sure credit is established. All guests are advised of this upon check-in and recommended to use a credit card instead -- even if they will use a debit card upon checkout. Perhaps this was confusing to you; however, this is standard practice at all hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    274
    137
    38
    24
See reviews for
171
178
28
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved our stay here. The only thing we wish is that it was longer. Great location. It's a block walk to the beach. There was also a park near by. The rooms were nice. The staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. Loved the patios on the first floor rooms. Such a great area that's not so busy.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have small patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Amanda M,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again and stay with us longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed one night at this property on our way to San Francisco. We were pleasantly suprised at how close it was to the beach. We arrived at the hotel a little after three and found that our room wasn't ready yet. We asked at the front desk for suggestions for a local place to each and were provided with several options. We were able to check in around 45 min later when our room was ready. The front desk staff was very accomodating as well as the valet and the bell service. Our room was adequate and lucky for us close enough to the lobby that we were able to use the free internet so we didn't have to pay the extra fee. The Bath and Body works amenites in the bathroom was a nice touch. It was a bit of a haul to our room in a different part of the hotel and it was confusing to go into another building entirely to get to the elevator and then through a twisty maze of corridors to finally find our room. I was disappointed that we had to pay for parking and that there was no free breakfast but since it was just a stop over, it wasn't an issue for us. It was also disappointing that the pool was always filled with children even late into the evening. We would have like to have some quiet time away from others screaming children. We would probably stay again since the location to the beach is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauLeePop3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LauLeePop2545,

Thanks so much for your review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Since we are a property that appeals to a lot of travelers — both leisure and business — and your stay was during peak summer family vacation time, it is to be expected that there will be a good number of families staying with us and making good use of our pool which is very popular with children.

We always feel it important to remind those who have posted reviews here that since we are a full-service Marriott property, items like Internet and breakfast are NOT included in the rate as they may be at "select service" hotels within our brand. We never advertise that these items are included in the price so we want to be clear to all TripAdvisor members who read this review that we are in no way misrepresenting what we are offering as part of the rate. There must be some confusion on the part of the reviewers who expect that ALL hotels include these items in their rate which is most definitely not the case at full-service Marriotts — and many other brands as well. It is always advisable to check and see prior to booking what hotels do and do not include in their rates so there is no confusion and no disappointment upon arrival at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The best getaway ever!
We booked one night there to celebrate my bf's birthday. It was the first celebration of my bf's birthday since we were together. I wanted him to have an unforgettable memories . I contacted the hotel before head to see if there was anything they could do to help me. And wow, they did make my wish come true!
First of all, the hotel upgraded us to the concierge level with a very nice room. We were told we could see the Ventura county fair fireworks at night. After we checked in the room, a small plate with chocolate strawberries and 2 bottle of sparkling apple juice along with a birthday card was sent to us from the management! My bf was so surprised!
Then, the hotel gave us 2 complimentary breakfast. Everyone was so nice and friendly. The lobby is beautiful ;room was clean; towels were clean and soft; pillows was soft; bed was comfy ....every thing was great! There is a shuttle running around town. My bf was totally relaxed , no driving ! Our car was just left there until we leave.

It's only few minutes walk from the hotel to the beach. Instead of watching fireworks from the balcony, we went to the beach! It was so romantic! Yea, we wore their robes to the beach .That kept us warm and felt like home!
The jacuzzi opens till 11pm, so we still had time to jump into the jacuzzi after watching fireworks on the beach. The jacuzzi was wonderful !
We ended up extended our getaway for one one more night and we didn't want to leave at all.
Thanks everyone at Ventura beach Marriott. You gave us the best getaway ever! Most important, it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mayxl,

We are so thrilled that you had an unforgettable experience with your boyfriend here at the Ventura Beach Marriott. We know it is the little things that mean a lot and we are so happy that you both enjoyed a special stay. Here's to many more celebrations together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed her while attending a wedding in nearby Santa Paula. We didn't spend much time at the hotel because we were but most of the time, but it is a nice place as it is centrally located, near the beach and the Ventura pier . The hotel is quiet, clean and comfortable with super friendly staff, always asking if they can be of assistance. Their in-room coffee makers brew single cups of coffee, which is a nice alternative to the pour-over coffee makers. The only bad thing is that there isn't a fan in the restroom. They offer flavored water and fresh fruit in the lobby, a nice treat on a hot summer day and their patio is a nice alternative to sitting out at the pool. We did see a few dogs so it's nice to know they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Dinat99,

Thank you for posting your positive review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while in town for a wedding and appreciated all of the little extra touches that our hotel provides. We hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, great staff. For us it was the place to stay close to Santa Barbara. It worked out pretty well. Rooms are clean and spacious. Our stay was very good and if we have the opportunity we will certainly stay here again. the breakfast is excellent and you can compose and order an omelet at your wishes. Although the chef,who was live preparing the omelet, was in not such a good mood the omelet was great.

Breakfast is great but expensive but thanks to a partnership between the company I work at and Marriott breakfast is always complementary :-)

The parking fee of $13 is a bit awkward. It pretends that it is a major big city hotel but that it is not. My suggestion to the management is to stop with this kind of nonsense.

I can only suggest that if you are in Ventura CA you book this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Barlin63,

Thanks so much for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We do continue to receive very positive reviews for our breakfast and we are very happy that you enjoyed it. As a full-service Marriott Hotel, our breakfast is NOT complimentary as at other select-service hotels and that is why we offer the opportunity to get an omelet made to order as well as many other hot breakfast items versus the Continental breakfast which is included at many select-service properties. We hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose this hotel specifically because they accepted pets. It was a one overnight for visiting family in Santa Barbara. The rooms were a little dated, but well kept. The real selling point for us was the pet policy. They also allowed our dog to eat with us in the lounge just outside the restaurant but indoors. Very nice of them. We enjoyed the food, which was very good and priced acceptably for the venue. Because it is a business hotel, they tend to "nickle and dime" everything, the internet, the water in the room and parking.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators to keep the noise down. Be aware that a courtyard facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Fool_80918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Travelin_Fool_80918,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with your pet. As a pet friendly General Manager, it was my goal to make sure this property is welcoming of pets. With regard to the parking and Internet, it is a standard Marriott policy for all full-service hotels to charge additional for these amenities. We hope to welcome you back again with your pet soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Property: Ventura Beach Marriott
Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at the stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our Ventura hotel offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing