We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ventura Beach Marriott
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Ventura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Rex Motel(Ventura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
171
289
152
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
289
152
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungenice hotelsanta barbaranice pool areaparking lotshort walk to the beachventura beachparking feestate beachin n out burgercomfortable roomstwo blocksroom was largefire pitone night staybit datedmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 682 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I contacted this place after discovering that I had booked the wrong dates where we were staying in Ojai. The staff at this Marriot were wonderful on the phone and were able to accommodate us with not one but two adjoining rooms last minute. Nothing so special in that you say? Well this was July 4th weekend - I was pretty impressed. And relieved.
I found the rooms to be standard, clean, perfectly fine.
The only surprise was that there was no view of the ocean, but they are adjacent to a park that fronts onto the beach.
Overall, what I can say about this place that's notible - they have an amazing staff. The went out of their way every step of the way to save our California vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Bsch,

Thank you so much for the glowing reviews you posted about our staff. Our staff is what truly makes our hotel. We provide easy access to the best of Ventura and the Pacific coastline and that is what makes us unique. We are so happy that we were able to save your July 4th vacation for you! And thanks for spreading the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were in a very well appointed refurbished room on the 3rd floor. However, the electronic key did not work until the third reiteration and maintenance alerted. Linens, bed, bath were all top notch and service was good. There is a problem with a room that is not cheap piling internet charge, water charge, parking charge and no mimi-fridge in room etc etc. this does not add up to first class accommodations or welcome. Maybe it's the beach atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant and had a better than average meal but service was spotty with too few waitstaff for the size of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topnotch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear topnotch_10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our resort. We do feel it is important to note that this hotel is a full-service Marriott property and, as is standard within our brand, there are additional charges for these amenities which many guests do not mind paying for. In fact, it is standard practice for most hotels at the same level within the area to charge additional for these services. We have taken note about your complaint regarding the waitstaff and will review it with our management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived hoping to enjoy a night on our own after visiting family. Instead we were hit with a series of upcharges: Parking $16, Internet $10, Coffee $12, Breakfast $40, Water In The Room extra $3.50/bottle. Pay-per-view movies $20 each. The list goes on.

Although the staff were friendly enough, we felt nickel and dimed to death. The restaurant looked nice, and normally we would have tried it out for a few drinks at least, but not here. We felt so frustrated at the constant upcharges we just walked over to In and Out Burger! The location while close to the ocean, doesn't have ocean views and we felt the whole place was way overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Starfish223,

We are sorry that you were frustrated with your stay at our hotel. We are a full-service Marriott property versus a select service hotel where things like breakfast and Internet are included. We do not claim that we include breakfast, movies, Internet, etc. at our property so we are sorry with regard to where your confusion has come from that all of these amenities would be included. As is evidenced by most other guests who have stayed with us, they DO indeed feel as if they get a good value for their dollar and appreciate all that our property has to offer. Once again, we are sorry for your disappointment and hope that you enjoyed your Ventura visit overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times for business now, nothing special, just practical, ok price and the room usually has a fridge so I can stack up what I need for after work. Across the street you find IN&OUT burgers, and they are just delicious. I never eat at the hotel, I do not have time for slow breakfasts, I rather have a walk in the sunrise on the beach or to the pier of Ventura just nearby. This hotel works out well for me, and it also has pool and jacuzzi, but if you are looking for a special hotel experience you may want something much better than this.

Room Tip: As if the room has a fridge, and if you get second floor you may get lucky and see the sea from your veranda.. some rooms on 1st floor are near the pool if that´s what you like.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtheworld201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear travelingtheworld201,

Thank you for your review about our property. Every guest travels differently and we welcome and appreciate that you choose to use our hotel in the way that works best for you. Our great location offers business and leisure guests the opportunity to experience the Ventura area in many ways — including a sunrise walk along the beach as you so enjoy. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Room Was Fine Except For The Bloody Mattress. Parking Extra 16, Internet Extra 10, Coffee 12, Breakfast 40, Water In The Room 3.50 Each. There Was More But I've Got Better Things To Do. Stay At Another Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank necrogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Necrogeo,

We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. We do feel it is important to point out that this property is not an all-inclusive resort and as with any other standard Marriott hotel — or pretty much any branded hotel — you will be charged additionally for parking, Internet, breakfast, etc. It is quite clear on our website that none of this is included so we are not sure where the misunderstanding may have occurred in that you thought all of this was included. Our property is not a select service brand in which some of these limited services are included in the price. If there was any type of misunderstanding, we do apologize, but most guests are well aware of the costs when they stay at our hotel and feel that they get a good value for their dollar and an excellent guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews