We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott near the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Marriott near the water”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at the Ventura Beach Marriott on the 4th of July weekend. It was a very good stopping off point on our way to Santa Barbara. It was 10 miles from the factory outlets, near up and coming restaurants in Ventura, and the town's main street was closed off to traffic and the street was lined with many booths selling arts and crafts. The rooms are large and the pool area was enjoyable after our time in kayaks in the Ventura Harbor area. It was clean and comfortable and full.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear ITConsultant1,

Thanks for your review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    277
    140
    38
    24
See reviews for
172
182
28
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Seeking a stopping point on a California coastal drive (LA to Cambria) this was a perfect place to rest and set up a base to explore Santa Barbara twenty minutes away. THe hotel literally is right next to a state beach. You can walk to the ocean in 7 minutes. As Gold Members we booked in advance and requested a "room with a view of the ocean." THey do not list they have them because your not literally on the beach. Instead, you look over rooftops but can see the ocean beyond.
Ask for room 4035. At the back corner of the property the room actually was a suite with a couch , chair and TV nearby a large windows with the view and then a bedroom beyond(with another great window view looking out towards the sea) twice as large with a walk closet! Plenty of space. Bathroom was the high standard you'd expect and sparkling clean. Bed stuffed with pillows didn't bring on back pains.

Nice local B&W photos of beach scenes the only negative to room was a carpet that needed replacing--if felt and looked old on your bare feet , especially compared to the updated couch, chair and chair with ottoman in the bedroom.

A very few minor nuisances --why didn't they put a newspaper our our door (we got plenty in the concierge lounge) and the evening snacks (5:30-7:30) were uneven. One night they had delicious grab cakes! Other Category Six properties have a much bigger spread--carrot sticks and other veggies, chips etc. The breakfast was full and plentiful from waffles to bacon/eggs and fresh fruit.

The fridge in the room never got cold. It needs replacing.

The location of the property is 5 minutes from the freeway for easy access, 10 minutes from downtown Ventura with plenty of antique shops to explore and a much nicer downtown feel than nearby Santa Barbara which had far too many chain stores (H&M, Macys disguised in the required light adobe off yellow color) compared to Ventura's one-off cool shops. Plenty of book stores!
I'd stay hear again. Pool was surrounded by the hotel structure and a little chilly so we never tried it.

Room Tip: 4th floor along the back side of the property. Ask for one near the back elevator so easy to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBillPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear DrBillPhoenix,

Thank you for the positive review of our property! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the great description you provided to members about our room facilities. Downtown Ventura is a great place to explore and hang out and we are so glad that you appreciate its eclectic charms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
292 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Ventura Beach Marriott the 21st of June.
This hotel is situated close to the beach, but outside the centre.
It is a 20 minute walk to the pier and restaurants of Ventura Beach.

The rooms are spacious and they have an OK pool-area, both nice when you travel with a family of 4 (2 teenage daugthers).

Jogging at the beach in the morning was fantastic and they have bicycles you could use to get around. Their breakfast was the best we ever had during our 3 week vacation in the US.

Our trip was a bit ruined by a rude couple in the pool that should have gotten a room instead of "carrying out their business" in the pool, right in front of our family. Someone told the hotel management and they spoke to the guests that did not seem to care. They were both drunk and rude. Bad experience for all of the guests present.

Nice staff and ok level of service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kimmen1,

Thank you for your review of our property. The beach near to our property is a very popular spot with joggers who love running alongside the water. We apologize for the situation at the pool; however, unfortunately we are not able to control the behaviors of our guests and can only do so much with regard to making them aware of their impact on other guests. Our breakfast buffet is quite popular, and we are thrilled that you found it to be the best that you had while on holiday here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Marriot. Decent sized room, flat screen TV, nice lobby, pool and garden. Pet friendly. It is approximate 1 block from the beach. It was clean and comfortable. The only draw back was that when returned from the day the room had not been cleaned. I like it when they clean the room early in the morning but I guess they clean the rooms that are being turned over first. I don't want my room cleaned at after 3 pm when we are back in the room.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the hotel, first floor facing the atrium. So no special view by any means but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear GregoryOrangeCounty,

Thank you for your review of our property. The next time that you are staying with us, please feel free to call down to the front desk and ask that your room be cleaned before your return at a certain time and we will do everything in our power to try to accommodate that request. Oftentimes many of our guests are out of the hotel for an entire day, so it doesn't matter what time the room is cleaned as long as it is before the early evening. But any time that you have a special request like that, please do let us know as it is our goal to accommodate guests whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is old and not updated. Carpet has rips and holes everywhere. It is also not maintained well. Spider webs everywhere. I can't believe I paid $250 a night here. They converted it from an old double tree hotel I believe. Considering it a Category 6 Marriott should be an insult to the brand. If you must stay at Marriott property,the Residence Inn a few miles down is far better then this "motel". Don't waste your time or money here!

Also, they allow pets and so there were dogs all over the property crapping everywhere. Errr...

Room Tip: Don't go here! The Residence Inn or Hilton Garden is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogueplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Boqueplayer,

We are sorry that you felt our hotel did not keep up with Marriott standards. We do try to maintain our hotel up to Marriott's high standards and are sorry that you were disappointed in your experience. While our hotel is very dog friendly, we can only rely on the ability of their owners to pick up after them so we apologize if there were some issues. We would hope that dog parents pick up after their dogs while they are staying with us — as they would when they are at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Clean hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is a bit lifeless. We stayed for 2 nights in a very clean quiet room. The hotel itself is well kept with good public spaces and a vey nice outside area with a carp pond. The pool could have done with more sunbeds as it was a struggle to get a place to relax if you werent there early. A car is a must as no restaurants within walking distance. All in all a good value hotel for the money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBritAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear LondonBritAbroad,

We appreciate that you recognized what a great value for money our hotel is. Our goal is to provide our guests with an oasis of tranquility here in Ventura versus being a party spot. Thank you so much for your review and we will share your feedback about the lounge chairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I made the trip to Ventura for a mini anniversary getaway. We've stayed at this property several times over the years and enjoy it. The property is a little off the beaten path (too far to walk into downtown Ventura), but worth it for the peace and quiet and quality. We've stayed at the Crowne Plaza and while you have a gorgeous ocean view, you can also hear the freeway and the trains. Not the case at the Marriott. Our courtyard view room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet.
The only disappointing part of my trip - I booked this room on the Marriott website and used a professional organization VIP discount code. When I checked in at the front desk (the elite desk was occupied), I asked if I could be upgraded to the concierge level. The clerk told me it would cost almost $100 on top of my discounted rate ($209 vs. $113) as I was only a Silver elite and only Gold and higher qualified. I passed. I would have gladly paid the $30 difference between a regular room and concierge, but not foregone my discount on top of it. Perhaps that could be an option in the future?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiningyapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear whiningyapper,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are so glad that you are a frequent guest and continue to enjoy your time with us.

With regard to your recent upgrade request, due to our beach location and the time of year that you visited (summer), we receive a massive number of upgrade requests from Platinum and Gold Marriott Rewards members and are not always able to accommodate every Marriott Rewards member on a complimentary basis. Additionally, since our Concierge Lounge is closed on weekends, we often opt to offer upgrades to SUITE accommodations in lieu of a standard guest room on the Concierge Level and since there is a huge difference in the category of room (suites have two rooms and two bathrooms) the optional upgrade offered at a minimal upgrade fee is still quite a savings and benefit versus having to pay full rate for this suite. We hope that you can appreciate this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Property: Ventura Beach Marriott
Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at the stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our Ventura hotel offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing