We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant seaside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant seaside hotel”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Marriott Ventura Beach is a mere block or two from a sandy California beach. Some rooms have ocean view. Mine featured a beautiful view of the inner courtyard, with pool and jacuzzi. (The hotel is built in a square with an atrium in the middle.) It was quiet at night even through the 101 freeway is very close. The hotel is spacious and beautifully decorated--in a modern, California style. The entrance hall is airy and not your usually cookie-cutter Marriott. An exhibition of two hip photographers was going on while I stayed there. The food at the restaurant was good although our lunch service was extremely slow!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cest0vatelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    273
    137
    38
    24
See reviews for
171
177
28
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We came here on vacation in the off-off season so it was a very empty hotel.
While we found the staff courteous and friendly, we thought that the housekeeping just didn't measure up to the standards of a Marriott hotel. In both of our rooms we found dust, spiderwebs (a first!), missing light bulbs and coffee cups.

We also think they should have had a mini-refrigerator and towel racks.
But we were grateful for the great room location on the garden. Our poodle had access to this area (on leash, of course) and he really enjoyed the room!

The personnel are all very friendly about dogs.For example, we had a welcome pack in our room with a water bowl, frisbee and dog park literature. We were able to eat our complimentary breakfast in the lobby with our dog and they made sure he had water.

So while there were some stumbles, we found this place to be quite adequate for our needs and would probably return if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, order the Marriott Pet Package for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 430kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 1 night on business. The bed was comfortable, room service was good. All in all it was fine. My only complaint is that the bathroom could have been more female friendly. The toiletries provided were extremely basic. There was no shower cap. The tea and coffee service is kept in a box resembling a humidor. My partner was fine with it, but I felt a little unwelcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sybarite1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked this Marriot Beach Ventura reservation with a travel agent. They had to move us because they gave us one bed instead of two as requested which was weird considering it wasn't crowded Christmas Eve and we were a family of 3. We heard a fight erupt from the room next door with very loud cursing for at least 20 minutes so we called the front desk. The security person came up to the room and told us they had problems earlier, we walked to the front desk and were told there was no problem according to the security person. We asked to speak to the manager, they didn't want to refund our payment at first, but then relented when we insisted we would not stay the night because of safety concerns and would immediately contact corporate about the issue. They were pretty rude considering it was Christmas Eve and our stay was ruined. I would rate this place just above Motel Six as far as service and ambience, no views and pretty loud, like most of Ventura lodging. A real bummer as far as service, I'm not faking.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room in the rear of this place. Its where they have the violent gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sybarite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Marriott property in early December. It is located in close proximity to the freeway, is easy to find, and there is a parking lot accessed by a room key card. There is a grocery store down the street. It is located within walking distance to the beach and is also across the street from a park. The bar features a perfect size food menu if you're looking for a bite to eat between meals. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualoverquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXNARD, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

the purpose we stayed at hotel is because our house was being fumigated,and we have 3 cats.The hotel,and staff were PERFECT in every way.Attitude was sparkling! Room ,and coziness was more than I had hoped for ,and our cats were calm,and peaceful. Created a get away when I was "Stressed" and helped me cope,and I was so happy w in house movies,and view with pool ,and outdoor access.lovely would recommend to anyone.
Note:when you stay with pets ask about your animals some hotels ONLY take dogs.so check if you have this situation.Marriott's is SUPER and was not expensive.

Room Tip: ask for what you want many times they can help you attain it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltahoelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

there were beach houses between the ocean and the hotel so there was a free place for me to park which i always like. the 10.00 fee to park wasnt bad though either. there was an in and out hamburger place that was a madhouse day and night. i bet they took dining business from the hotel. a very lovely hotel the meeting room was very large and nice i thought. the big selling point is the location to the ocean. beautiful . i have been here twice and its convention rooms are very nice. excellent pool and garden . safe and comfortable

Room Tip: 2 block walk to the ocean,terrific hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Property: Ventura Beach Marriott
Address: 2055 Harbor Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true spirit of California when you book a stay at the stylish Ventura Beach Marriott. Our Ventura hotel offers an unbeatable location near a variety of popular attractions including the Channel Islands, Ventura County Fairgrounds and San Buenaventura State and Ventura beaches with Santa Barbara a 30-minute drive away. Guest rooms and suites at our hotel feature fashionable decor, flat-panel TVs, premium bath amenities and luxurious bedding. Unique among hotels in Ventura, our Marriott is home to Pacifico Restaurant & Lounge, our renowned eatery serving fresh California cuisine and irresistible handmade cocktails. Active travelers will appreciate our sparkling outdoor swimming pool and modern fitness center featuring a variety of cardio machines and free weights. With 16,000 square feet of tastefully decorated event space, our hotel is an ideal venue for conferences and social events. Enjoy a relaxing, refreshing stay at Ventura Beach Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing