We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the last great coffee shops!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Coffee Shop

Vagabond Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the last great coffee shops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Over the 4th of July we stayed at the Best Western, which is next door to the Vagabond Hotel and Restaurant. We decided to try the restaurant for breakfast/early lunch, and could not have been happier! It really was like going back in time (well, they've been there for 40+ years, I believe): service was attentive and friendly -- clearly lots of locals go there, too. My boyfriend had his usual bacon and eggs, and said they were great. I opted for the cheeseburger combination. The burger was delicious, as were the onion rings and even the salad (good dressing!). We were so happy we stumbled upon the Vagabond, and will be sure to go there the next time we are in Ventura!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HendixMom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Azusa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wide variety on menu - good service. Next door to Best Western, easily accessible and open 24/7. Comparable to Dennys' i prices but a little upscale on food and service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
212 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very cool old cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This old school coffee shop is very nice and many locals eat here it seems . The food was good and the staff was very nice . The prices were very cheap considering the location and I can recommend the fried chicken . The evening I was in the manager was in and seemed very nice so give it a try if your in town

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“really good food but a bit pricey for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

the food was good and the service was great but it was a bit over priced for breakfast food. the rye toast was awesome! it was called corn rye i believe she said and it was awesome my omelette was also very very good. not too much to complain about here and i would definitely go back but the pricing is a bit much i thought

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I always stay at the Vagabond Inn when visiting Ventura. The best thing about the Vagabond is the coffee shop. The food is always good. The service is always great. I have never had a bad meal and they always cook my steaks perfect. I have had better steaks here than I have had in some 5 star resturants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabond Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Vagabond Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing