We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bang for your buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Maggiore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Maggiore Inn
Save
You added Bella Maggiore Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We definitely enjoyed our stay here. The staff was more than welcoming. The only quirk is that because it is on the main drag, it gets REALLY loud at night on the weekends. They do warn you about this prior to even booking your room, so for that, I am grateful.

The place isn't the most modern, but they make up for it in charm. They have a generous happy hour from 5-6 with an assortment of hor d'oeuvres and red or white wine. Don't be picky, its included with your stay.

Breakfast in their charming courtyard is also included in your stay. This breakfast is more than your traditional continental flare. It's an actual sit-down, order taken and served to you breakfast. With options including: omelettes, french toast, bacon, the whole shebang.

On top of all this ... they also offer complimentary parking and a security guard at night. You can't beat all this for the low price of the nights stay. The value and charm have completely won me over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Candie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    21
    18
    14
See reviews for
12
81
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just returned from a two day midweek stay at the Bella Maggiore. We have been dedicated patrons for over fifteen years and always look forward to the relaxed atmosphere. As usual, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms and common areas are clean and well maintained. The reasonable room rates include a "real breakfast" from a menu in Nona's Courtyard Cafe and afternoon wine and relaxing around the fireplace. (they used to also serve a fantastic dinner in Nona's Courtyard Café -- we'd love to have them do it again -- we wouldn't have to leave the premises for a great dinner) Right in the middle of Ventura's "Old Town" and a two and 1/2 block walk to the beach. Mission San Buenaventura is on Main Street, as well as some cool shops. Directly across the street, on California is the Hawaiian Shirt shop, if that is your thing -- it is mine and right next door, unique ladies wear. Good restaurants, too numerous to mention. Our favorites are: for lunch: The Busy Bee, a funky 50's diner; for dinner: 71 Palm -- relaxed dining in a European style atmosphere. The Bella Maggiore has been our "go-to" perfect getaway for along time. We always look forward to our stays there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, always with friends, and always a great time.
There are supposed to be ghosts (although I have encountered them in Virginia City, NV, I didn't see any here).
The rooms are nice, some smaller than others, but there are nice public areas for sitting and reading a book and relaxing.
And we always had great breakfasts that were included with the room. You eat them in a beautiful courtyard with vine covered walls.
It's a cool place that is always fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are kinda noisy, especially on holidays, so try to head upstairs towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roompoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This visit...no breakfast as stated.....from Mon to Fri ....first told the chef was ill then they gave up and just served continental until Fri when lo and behold B&B was good again!!
I have written the mgmt over the years asking that they consider giving the place a thorough cleaning....never heard back
Upside of this place is the terrific location
Staff is pleasant but they are not the boss.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bick586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

There was one staff member who was extremely RUDE. Unfortunately, I didn't catch her name (since she didn't introduce herself to us). She was an older woman with long blonde hair. And everytime my bf or I would walk past her at the front desk, we'd greet her. And every single time she'd turn away and completely ignore us. We made eye contact, she saw us. We walked right past her, she heard us. And yet she kept that poker face on the entire time and just wouldn't even acknowledge us. I wanted to think that maybe she was just a grouch or that maybe she was having a bad week. I didn't want to take it personal so after about the 4th attempt we decided to just ignore her. So that night as we're getting back into the hotel, we ran into another couple who was also staying there. They walked in ahead of us and as they walked past her she wished them a goodnight with a huge smile on her face. And as we walked in behind them her smile quickly faded. She looked away and again completely ignored us. How could anyone not take that personal? Maybe my boyfriend and I are the wrong color? That's really the only difference between us and the other guests. I've never been treated that way or made to feel that way.

Let me just say that the rest of the staff was friendly and helpful.Especially Cindy.
They're breakfast was delicious.
The hotel itself is adorable and cozy. The location is great.

But I will NEVER go back to a place where I am treated in a way that I have only read about in history books.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank LuzBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Bella Maggiore several times. This isn't a 5-star hotel, and it's a little frayed around the edges. BUT: It's location downtown places it within a short walk to all the best restaurants and nightspots. The rooms are clean and the breakfast served in Nona's restaurant in the lovely courtyard make this hotel a really good value, which is why we keep going back!

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, upgrade to a room with a spa and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jax88SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were in Ventura to visit Channel Islands National Park. Being tired of chain hotels, we were looking for a unique place to stay and found it in Bella Maggiore Inn. The location is great, right in the middle of old downtown with shops and restaurants galore. I was really surprised by the negative reviews of the staff. We thought they were wonderful and, in fact, we had great conversations and enjoyed them very much. I had the feeling that they would do anything to make us happy. We stayed in a room on the third floor in the front of the hotel. There is no elevator but the staff takes your luggage up and down. There was a lot of activity on the street below but no noise to speak of. We were there on the weekend and it was fun watching the activity. The room was a suite with a working gas fireplace and a TV in the living room and the bedroom. Everything was clean and very nice.
We had the included breakfast at the hotel cafe which was a full, off the menu, delicious breakfast. We also ate dinners at two nearby restaurants. "Sportsman's" which is next door to the hotel and "Chicago's" about two blocks away. Both were excellent.
I hope we have an occasion to return for another stay at Bella Maggiore.

Room Tip: If you are unable to climb stairs ask for a room on the first floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clocktower Inn Hotel
Clocktower Inn Hotel
#14 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Maggiore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maggiore Inn

Property: Bella Maggiore Inn
Address: 67 S California St, Ventura, CA 93001-2801
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Bella Maggiore Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing