We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Maggiore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Maggiore Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Bella Maggiore more than once, both with children and for romantic getaways. It's our favorite hotel, and whenever we're in central coast California, we look to stay there.

The hotel is beautiful, with a distinctive mediterranean-style facade. A critic might say that the interior is a bit shabby looking, but I would call it charming and authentic. In the evening there is complimentary wine and light snacks (veggies, crackers, cheese), which is a really nice touch.

The location is terrific. Right around the corner from Main St. shops and a short walk to both the beach and the Ventura Pier.

But, as others have pointed out, maybe the best thing about this hotel is the marvelous breakfast included with the price of a room. It's a full-menu breakfast that you order, not a buffet. The food is outstanding, and the restaurant itself is in a stunning courtyard with a water feature, pretty iron work, and flora. An absolute gem of a place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    66
    23
    18
    14
See reviews for
12
87
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Our Buena '71 class met for R 60th birthday year!! Some of us were 60!! The rooms were spotless, breakfast, which comes w/ room was EXCELLENT!! wine tasting was free & great eats & FUN ON PATIO!! When back to Ventura will ALWAYS stay at the Bella Love, love LOVE IT! :o)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNIE0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quartz hill california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Love This Place For The Best Beachtown experience Got To Go For Anniversary BIG45 Time goes Fast With The Right Person You See Your Friend s Come And Go Change Stinks Check The Ranch House Restaurant In Ojai For That Special Occasion

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjmich63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Is The Place To Stay For All The Beach Has To Offer Like Great Location To Sand Just A Few Blocks Away Resturants- Shopping Movies Nightlife Live Music Great Food and The climate Is Great For Strolls On Beach Strand

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our second time at the Bella Maggiore Inn. We really love the location, ambiance the breakfast as well as the wine at 5 pm! Gals at the front desk as well as the maids and wait staff were courteous and friendly. We will be back again soon. :)

Room Tip: I would not go for the 75.00 room facing the street as it is noisy, but any other room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been staying at the Bella Maggiore as a lovely get away from Los Angeles for about 10 years. The breakfast is amazing, and there used to be an wonderful restaurant in the court yard that's now gone. Last time we had one of the rooms at the rear with a fireplace which was lovely in the evening as it was still cold at night. The hotel is not the Ritz but has lots of personality and a ghost ! And the staff are always very helpful. We often arrive by train and as everything is in walking distance including the hotel from the station ,it give us a break from driving. Lov it Helen

Room Tip: Choose a back room if your a light sleeper,since the advent of the bar across the road on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree with some of the previous postings, awesome perks, like Happy Hour with a great atmosphere on outdoor deck area, and free menu breakfast in an amazing courtyard with fountain and vine covered wall, and free parking, it's just that the furnishings in the room and bathroom are outdated -it totally feels like you are back in time and really just imagine you are staying at your aunt or grandma's house...

Definitely great bargain and would definitely recommend...:)
P.S. I did find some hairs in the bathtub that would have been better I didn't see :( They should have taken the extra minute to make sure that tub is hair free...

Room Tip: Room #23 was a good room:) Not noisy and lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfirme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.3 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Maggiore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maggiore Inn

Property: Bella Maggiore Inn
Address: 67 S California St, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a palm tree-lined street, this 1926 hotel is just a half-block to downtown Ventura and 3 blocks to the beach. Rooms are decorated in an Italianate style, have private bathrooms, and free WiFi. Some have fireplaces, spa-tubs, bay window seats, or a view that looks over a leafy courtyard. There is a pleasant living room lobby with wooden floors, antique sofas, a real fireplace, and flower arrangements from the local farmers' market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Maggiore Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing