We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a good place, with some caveats”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Maggiore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Maggiore Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's a good place, with some caveats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good: I paid 100$ for one night plus taxes. Free cook-to-order breakfast. Good coffee. Two chocolates and water bottles in the room. Cute courtyard. Right off the 101 freeway = good stop if you are heading to Santa Barbara.
Not so good: rough on the edges, the blankets seem pretty old. The bathroom was small with old tile and sink but not in an antique way, just no character. The grout and shower pan looked a tad dingy. No front desk attendant late in the evening.
The stuff in the middle: we didn't plan to party but it was easy. We went to a couple of great pubs and my boyfriend had to drag me back. Problem with that is that this would be noisy for sleepy people.

Room Tip: Dont get anything facing the street if you plan to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apple-tron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    23
    18
    14
See reviews for
13
87
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I live in Ventura but decided to spend two nights at this property for a little "staycation".
I love the idea of bed & breakfast places. YOu always meet interesting, social people. My stay here was no exception. However, I really expected to see a greater presence by the innkeeper. I beleive I ran into her the second morning but she did not introduce herself as such to me. Additionally, she was not properly dressed for visitors and this was at 9:30am on MOnday morning.
The good parts are that you cant beat the price, which includes a full breakfast, and the location is 100% perfect for a visit to Ventura. Although we have a nice hotel right on the beach which does have great views you hear the trains all night which prevents most people from enjoying the idea of keeping the balcony doors open at night.
Ventura is filled with interesting little shops, local restaurants, one of the California missions and a nice history museum. This property affords you walking distance to everything thus avoiding the need to ever move your car. Bikes can be rented at several places close by. This is an ideal place to stay for a weekend getaway.
However, note that the decor is sparce and not all the furntiure is in good condition. I would call this borderline rustic. With a little bit of upgrading this Inn could be much more attractive for the casual tourist or local resident.
Breakfast is held in a beautiful courtyard with a running fountain. On Sunday morning, we were treated to a very nice solo guitarist. The food is fair. The setting makes up for where the food is lacking. Again with a little upgrading this courtyard could be a wonderful place to have breakfast.
I probably wont stay here again unless I hear about some improvements to the property.
The front desk staff is wonderful and attentive to each guest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stay at Bella Maggiore every time we visit the Ventura, Ojai or Santa Barbara area. Very European in style and comfort so don't expect cookie cutter impersonal American resort. Real breakfast and close to everything including the beach and funky shops on Main St. Close enough to train station if you don't want to drive.

Room Tip: Right across the street from noisy restaurant so if you are a light sleeper stay at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

A friend referred Bella Maggorie, and it was "lovely" at first sight. The downstairs lobby and sitting area are warm and cozy with a charming fireplace. Just outside the lobby is Nona’s Café and Courtyard, where the free cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning. The rooms are located on the second floor, where several small lounges are arranged throughout, and a lovely roof top sun deck. We were amazed by the free wine and cheese hour between 5 – 6pm. Offered was a nice selection of wines, cheeses, olives, and crackers. Many of the guests were relaxing in the lounging areas while enjoying their wine and cheese. Our room was large, with a comfortable king bed and an unexpected surprise! There waiting our arrival; a chilled bottle of champagne and chocolates in honor of my husband’s birthday!

While making my reservation, I was informed that none of the rooms offer ocean views, but the beach is only 4 short blocks away. Another wonderful feature of Bella Maggorie is the location…WOW! There are several restaurants, wine bars, dancing, boutiques, coffee shops, vintage and thrift shops, and of course....the beach, all within a few minute’s walk. Bella Maggorie offers free parking for their guests, which is another wonderful amenity. Our free cooked-to-order breakfast was delicious, and accompanied by beautiful guitar music played by a single musician in the courtyard.

Bella Maggorie is not high-tech or modern; they do things the old-fashioned way which in my opinion adds to the charm of the B&B. I look forward to my next visit to Bella Maggorie and will recommend it to all of my friends.

Room Tip: We were in room 28. Its wonderfully large, with a king bed. The fireplace is on a timer, and only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Charming place to stay for a night that could do with a bit of paint and overall renovation. The staff is friendly and the rooms are ok but could also be a tad cleaner.
Without the high costs of LA or SF - it is a great stop between the two and nicely located in the town near a very nice pub.
The breakfast was not that great though - even if included and in a charming courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard as on weekend, rooms on the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Bella Maggiore is a real find and good alternative to motels along the highway in Ventura. In center of a laid-back town that's good for walking; lively bars and restaurants are handy. It's rambling and has nice little patios, cozy living room area, and good eating area. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Every night 5-6 PM 2 glasses of wine and very good appetizers are served. Breakfast that comes with the room is excellent - especially liked the huevos rancheros plate. Coffee is strong and good. Our room was a deal - because only has double bed in special alcove. The bathroon was huge, plenty of windows with view of sunsets. Some noise from plumbing did not deter our enthusiasm. We'd recommend it to anyone wanting a unique, non-standard hotel with wonderful amenities.

Room Tip: For value, take a double bed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Contrary to several reviewers we found the facility to be extremely well kept, clean and staffed by individuals who excelled in their roles in the tourist industry. I must give a shout out to Lisa who is a server in Nona's Cafe and also prepares and hosts the Happy hour in the second floor common area. The desk personnel and housekeeping staff were also very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast selections equal those served in any 4 star establishment. Combined with the happy hour, free parking, great AAA rate and an unbeatable location the Bella Maggiore is a great place to stay in Ventura. We visit this city annually and will be certain to return here next year. The only suggestion I might offer is that it may be time to consider updating the bed coverings. Overall a FABULOUS three night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 35 and 23 nice size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdm1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clocktower Inn Hotel
Clocktower Inn Hotel
#18 of 22 in Ventura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Maggiore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maggiore Inn

Property: Bella Maggiore Inn
Address: 67 S California St, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a palm tree-lined street, this 1926 hotel is just a half-block to downtown Ventura and 3 blocks to the beach. Rooms are decorated in an Italianate style, have private bathrooms, and free WiFi. Some have fireplaces, spa-tubs, bay window seats, or a view that looks over a leafy courtyard. There is a pleasant living room lobby with wooden floors, antique sofas, a real fireplace, and flower arrangements from the local farmers' market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Maggiore Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing