We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night. We booked a basic room and the one that we were given already had someone in it. The front desk, maintenance, and housekeeping came together and within 15 minutes had set us up with one of the nicest rooms in the hotel for no extra charge. I feel like they went above and beyond for us and I definitely appreciated it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jywindowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    195
    127
    54
    44
See reviews for
168
249
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The beautifully landscaped grounds and location close to the pier and beach is what really make this property worth coming back to. We would stay here again. As mentioned in several other reviews, the front desk staff was disorganized and overall, the mangement of the hotel seems amiss. We arrived at 3:35 and our reservation could not be found by providing our name or reservation number. I had to literally hand the clerk my iphone with the email from the hotel to prove I had a valid reservation. After that, the room was not ready and there was some confusion about what room we would be assigned. We had read many reviews before booking, so this did not surpise us. It was a nice suprise when we did arrive in our room to find a partial pier and ocean view. Although the rooms are outdated with old tile , the beds are comfortable. This hotel is in need of rennovation. Complimentary hot breakfast with farmer brothers coffee is served in a dining room that overlooks the garden and on to the ocean and pier. the wait staff at breakfast was very cordial and accommodating. For the money, this location is a good value. It is not perfect, but worth the money for it's proximity to the ocean.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the nearby freweway/train. Many rooms have a partial view. Exoect to show writt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeane42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had our wedding in the Rose Garden at the Pierpont Inn and we had first rate service all the way. Everyone was great, but especially Susan, Severine, Jessica, and Billy. The service was incredible from housekeeping, the front desk, management and the restaurant. And our out-of-town guests were treated royally. The grounds are beautiful and the views are beathtaking. We would highly recommend this location for a wedding or any other special day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an older property that is in the most outstanding location in Ventura. The stay was very reasonable and included a full breakfast each day. The grounds were beautiful and the restaurant offered a lovely view (though obscured by clouds in July of all things). The staff were very nice, serving us wine even when the bar was not yet open, and one of the staffers walking my elderly mom to the restaurant when she took off without the family.

The only issue was that one of the rooms was never serviced at all (which we did not realize until returning rather late one night). The furniture is functional but a bit old, though the room itself was large and also offered a view. I would will look forward to staying at the Pierpont again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychtaygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The room was very spacious and comfortable, nice quiet and efficient air conditioner (and it could have been louder to help mask the considerable traffic noise). Across the street from the beach so good for a morning walk, but you need to drive to find places to eat. (There is a restaurant there but we didn't try it and it seemed expensive.) The wifi was not very reliable and the television was from the last century. I got a bargain on it so overall it was fine for a two-day getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side away from 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We held our wedding in the Pierpont Rose Garden this last weekend and it exceeded all of our expectations. Working with Severine and Jesus was an absolute joy! Every request was attended to in a timely manner, and even things we didn't asked for were anticipated and taken care of.

Our 12 guests took over the Vicker's Estate and Austen Suite while we put my mother in the small cottage, and the us in the large cottage. Having everyone so close together on the same property made for an even more intimate experience. We could all visit and hang out when there weren't any planned activities.

The free breakfast was the best we've ever had. Normally you get some bad coffee and a stale roll. Instead we had eggs, or blueberry pancakes, or yogurt and fresh fruit. Everyone was very happy. The restaurant staff was great with refills and special requests.

Our wedding dinner was OVER THE TOP! The new chef, James, is exceptional. He helped us plan a surf and turf menu, taking into consideration our preference for sustainably raised meat/fish and organic vegetables. He even came to our dinner to check on us and upon our request, told everyone the history of the Skuna Salmon we ordered. Everyone was raving about it!

The new management has put new beds in every room, which are super comfortable. I won't deny that the hotel has got some "historical charm", but I heard that there are plans for upgrades in every room.

If you're a bride thinking about getting married in a beautiful location, with a talented, service-oriented staff, I'd recommend the Pierpont.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kander27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently stayed here with two girl friends for a weekend away. After reading all the reviews I was a little reluctant to book it, my friends were coming in from out of town and the task of the planning fell on me. We stayed in two separate rooms and found them both fine. The highway does run right outside, but the noise was not at all noticeable in the rooms just on the balcony. The wait staff was wonderful and the beds were great for sleeping. It is an historical building, which is part of the charm in my opinion, so there is some upgrading that needs done. For the price (a full breakfast came with our stay) and the location, the beach is an easy walk under the highway, it was a great find! The grounds are beautiful and it was not crazy busy like the pier area. I plan on taking my husband back for a weekend getaway sometime and staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 514 and 515 and I would definitely ask for them again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn

Property: Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Address: 550 San Jon Rd, Ventura, CA 93001-3745 (Formerly The Pierpont Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the historic Pierpont Inn, a charming hotel with gorgeous landscaping and stunning ocean views. Our Ventura hotel encompasses decades of rich architecture featuring two 1925 English Tudor Revival cottages and a 1935 Spanish Revival Banquet Center, but also features modern amenities like free high-speed WiFi or an outdoor heated pool. The romantic coastal charm of the Pierpont Inn has made this hotel a favorite location for weddings and receptions, family reunions, corporate retreats and great overnight getaways for over 100 years. Enjoy the stunning ocean views while having a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner at Austen's, our on-site restaurant serving its famous NY strip steak alongside other classic American cuisine. The Pierpont Inn is located within walking distance of historic Downtown Ventura and the San Buenaventura Mission, located just 58 miles from Los Angeles, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierpont Inn And Spa
The Pierpont Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing