We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stress buster weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff House Inn on the Ocean
Ranked #1 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Cliff House Inn with my daughter. The pictures on the web site don't do it justice. The view is spectacular and the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks will
relax you like a good massage.
This is the place to come if you want to relax completely. The rooms aren't fancy but the view makes up for it. They have a very good restaurant too!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pursejunkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a clean 1940's ocean front hotel. It is very clean and nostalgic. The view, staff and location is the reason to choose this hotel. It is located on the old Pacific Coast Highway north of Ventura, California. It has a lovely restaurant, swimming pool and line of lounge chairs facing the ocean. It truly has the most marvelous views with the sound of the surf lulling you to sleep.
They could make a little money if they had wine available before the restaurant opens. We drove up the coast to find a bottle of wine and so did other patrons...
We watched seals, otters, and 2 porpoise swimming while having breakfast...
You do have to cary your own luggage and there are no elevators.

Room Tip: Get the larger room with the large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kloklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had one night on our way to SF. Yes it is a very old construction but who cares. if you have the ocean in front of you, a little swimming pool and a nice company you don't check how old is the place. therefore it depends what are you looking for while traveling.
the breakfast was enough. the price was fair and the view was wonderful.
who knows when but we might visit again one day.
telavivian

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telavivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I wanted to surprise my husband for his 50th birthday and booked their "Romance Pkg" in room 22 for 8/22/13. I have never stayed in a worse hotel in my life. The rug was filthy, light bulbs burned out, miniblinds broken and non functional, broken down mattress, but the worst was the BUG INFESTED BED. We hardly slept all night trying to figure out if there was too much bleach in the linens or if something was was making us itch/scratch all night long. When we finally got up at 5a.m. we both had BITES all over our legs, arms and body, so we left after we had some of their "continental breakfast" I called when we got home and told the desk clerk how horrible our stay was and the bugs, she said the owner "Sandy" would call. I'm still waiting...........

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dweck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

we spent 3 nights here in July. The room was basic but it was a 2 queen bed and had a separate bedroom for the one of the beds (an added bonus for our teenage daughter). There was a fridge but no tea and coffee facilities- this would be my only room complaint.
Breakfast was good- but a little slow in coming at times if they ran out of anything they did not really notice and had to be told every time, but for the price it was good.
The location was handy, very close to the road- but was not disturbed by this as other people have stated, all we could hear was the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobberdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Yeah, I'm a fan.

And yeah, everything you've read on the negative side is true: The place is old. And the rooms are odd. One room might have a TV from 1982, while next door is a brand new flat screen and beautiful bed set (room 10 = crap, room 9 is where you want to be).

But let's take a moment to focus on the positive.

First, the view. Hello, you can throw a rock into the ocean from any room in the hotel. I do believe Charlie Sheen would have called that #winning not long ago. The rate is great- I don't know anywhere else you can find a room that opens up to the water at the price you pay here. The staff is nice and for us, the isolation was just what we craved.

Here are the downs:

1. Wifi doesn't reach about half the hotel. We were in room 10, got no wifi. Moved to room 8, and got it if we say in the right corner of the room.
2. While the staff on site was great, we were bummed with service prior to. I had written in mentioning it was our honeymoon. Now don't get me a wrong, an upgrade would have been nice, but really, I was just looking to not get stuck in the worst room of the class I paid. Turns out, we got stuck in the worst. Who cares about the no wifi, we got 1 of the 2 rooms where you can barely see the ocean because the staircase to the third floor blocks your view. So avoid rooms 10, and I believe the other was 2.
3. Our move to room 8 wasn't better. Sure, the view was there, but 8 and 9 are next to some sort of air conditioning mechanism which effectively dulled out the noise of the waves in our room.


So is the place old? Yep. Does the food underwhelm? No doubt. Does everything work? Most things actually don't. And yet, that view, that beautiful view, with the ability to just sit outside and read all day and do it without breaking the bank- that gets this place 4 stars hands down. So if this doesn't sound like your place, shell out probably double if not more and enjoy that view and improved amenities elsewhere. Otherwise, this is a great spot for the thrifty and ocean obsessed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

After 5 nights in Laguna Beach we chose to spend three nights at The Cliff House, where we can always sleep deeply. I can't imagine going to the California coast without spending some time here. It is hard to find an affordable place to stay where you can be lulled asleep by the sound of the surf. The pool is warm and clean. The lounge chairs facing the ocean are always relaxing. We opted not to eat here this time because it was so cold (in August!). Hats off to those who did. It would be hard to find a more perfect location for dining. We are grateful that the Cliff House remains, and remains pretty much the same, after all these years. We will keep coming back.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evrydayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
10 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
11.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
14.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Inn on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Inn on the Ocean

Address: 6602 Old Pacific Coast Hwy, Mussel Shoals, Ventura, CA 93001-9704
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range: $144 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Inn on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff House Inn on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Inn On The Ocean Hotel Ventura
Cliff House Ventura
Cliff House Bed Breakfast Shoals Restaurant Ventura
Cliff Shoals Restaurant House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing