We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're driving up the Coast....don't miss this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff House Inn on the Ocean
Ranked #1 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you're driving up the Coast....don't miss this one!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I must have driven by this place fifty times and always wanted to stop for the night. However, after reading some of these reviews, I was more than a bit apprehensive. I'm glad I took a chance and risked it! This is a very cool stop. We were delayed by a road closure and were driving in from Ventura when Dan (the manager) called. He was concerned that the on-site restaurant was about to close and we'd be left without dinner. How often does that happen? We had an nice chat with Dan on our arrival and he pointed out the new floodlight that illuminates the waves at night. Wow! It's a really nice touch. The rooms all face the surf. Some have big picture windows, but they all have a great view of the ocean. The waves are crashing a hundred feet from your room!
This is an older hotel, but it was squeaky clean, as were the pool and the restaurant. The king bed was quite comfortable. Breakfast was typical continental style, but the coffee was excellent. Bottom line: This is not the Ritz. But it is a great little hotel at a very fair price. If your driving up the Coast....don't miss this one!

Room Tip: You can throw the extra for the large window, but all the rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    87
    40
    23
    37
See reviews for
32
154
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The accommodations are basic, no frills, or fancy room service, a bit old in fact, but it has a wonderful view which makes it worth staying.
Pros: 1) Ocean front view. You cannot get closer to the water than this hotel. Every room faces the ocean, including the restaurant. 2) Great location. Few minute drive to Santa Barbara 3). Plenty of parking space. 4) Comfortable bed. 5) Continental breakfast available by the water.
Cons: 1) Rooms are a bit outdated and small (Room #4). 2) Walls are thing. I heard both neighbors at different times of the night. At the same time you can also hear the waves hitting against the shore. 3) They do not offer cots for children, but some rooms are big enough to bring your own.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug7237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our first room was so poor. Old, no fridge and in poor condition. After complaining, we were shown a much improved room.
The hotel was a strange mix of impressions. The breakfast was ordinary with coffee served outside whilst the dinner in the restaurant was excellent.
To be fair the service was good though beware of access from the south as the road is being altered and a detour is necessary.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first..there seems to be a large difference in standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is absolutely ocean front, however, there is not an easy way to get to the sand. The trail at the east end of the property leads you to a 20 vertical feet drop that is a boulder scramble. Don't recommend bare feet or flip flops! A stairway to the sand would be nice. The building is sinking as shown by the walkway railings that are not level, the floors in the room that are not level, and the out of square walls. The lawn hadn't been mowed is several weeks and the pool was not clean.
The improvements on our room were a D.Y.I. project gone bad. The paint was bubbled and peeling on the wood trim at the window, the square granite counter-top in the bath was installed so that one corner was flush and the front edge had a huge gap, the back of the toilet was at least 6 inches away from the wall, the moulding around the door accented that you could see daylight around the closed door, and the new tile floor in the bath was installed around a chipped and rusted shower floor. And the towel bar came off in my DH's hand.
It was cool the night we stayed and the rusted room heater did not have a thermostat. It is either on or off, not very convenient for sleeping.

We did have a fantastic dinner at the restaurant and great service. Order the Stuffed Chicken Breast - you won't be disappointed.

We won't be back to stay overnight, but might come back for the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caligirl91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is truly a gem of a place but with some serious caveats. There are not many rooms here, less than 30 I believe. Every room has the most spectacular view of the pacific with moutains and islands. There is a great restaurant too. It is very private. There is nothing to do but gape at the ocean, eat, sleep, and get amorous. Oh and its like $150 bucks. It also on a world class surf break called Little Rincon so watching the surfers while sipping your coffee in the morning is a blast.

But... this isnt the 4 seasons. So dont expect anything else. You are 10 minutes from Ventura and 10 minutes from Santa Barbara so if you need to shop, dine, spa, golf, whatever, thats where you go. They are widening the 101 here (and putting in a sound wall soon) so you cant turn in to this little beach hamlet in going N,, have to go to next exit and turn around, bout 5 minutes. Also if going N to Santa Barbara same thing, have to go South 5 min to turn around.

If you want a special romantic getaway, with a great view, private, and nothing to do but "you know what" (and not blow a ton of dough) this is your place.

Room Tip: They all have ocean views. NO elevator so if disabled need room on 2nd floor, and youll have a tough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neurovictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, Ca.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here numerous times. Approaching on Northbound 101, due to highway construction you have to use the Bates Road exit and double back, about a 5 mile detour along the coast. Some rooms have been updated, but they do need new flooring. As noted in another person's review, there is no elevator but a third of the rooms are on the main lobby level with no stairs required. Hair dryers are not provided in the room, but rooms have a small refrigerator and shampoo, comfortable beds and extra pillows. Crashing waves cover freeway sounds which backs the hotel. You can't beat the view, and there's nothing better than waking to the sound of waves, then enjoying a continental breakfast on their ocean front tables or lounge chairs. Not to mention their amazing restaurant, Shoals Island Grill, with an exceptional selection of seafood and great service for lunch and/or dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMT-StaPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite spot a few miles north of Ventura, CA, like having your own oceanfront place with a pool and increditble views of the Channel Islands, plus a manmade island right offshore. Rooms are in the process of being updated, and some maintenance is being completed on siding and stairs in January, their slow time, hence their special room deals. Only a few other couples were staying here, so there weee plenty of lounge chairs facing the crashing waves. Included with the room is a continental breakfast with tables ten feet from the shore. Breakfast includes hardboiled egg, pastries and sourdough to gluten free rice bread to toast, plus cereal and oj. There's a beach to walk on at lowtide with rocks covered in mussels and sea stars. Another bonus is our favorite restaurant, Mussel Shoals-best seafood and mashed potatoes ever. Weather in January can range from sunny and warm to stormy-either way, it's a great getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
10.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
11.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Inn on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Inn on the Ocean

Property: Cliff House Inn on the Ocean
Address: 6602 Old Pacific Coast Hwy, Mussel Shoals, Ventura, CA 93001-9704
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Inn on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff House Inn on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Inn On The Ocean Hotel Ventura
Cliff House Ventura
Cliff House Bed Breakfast Shoals Restaurant Ventura
Cliff Shoals Restaurant House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing