We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Ready For "Prime" Time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Ranked #64 of 423 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anacapa St.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Ready For "Prime" Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Prime restaurant is expensive yet not a good value. I took my family of four there Saturday night. The waiter poorly explained the menu. The menu confused all four adults. Mistakes were made by the staff and the manager said she would call back tomorrow. She took my #. She did not call.
Be prepared for a costly disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    3
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent old school find in Ventura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I was meeting a friend in Ventura the other day after finishing a gig at 9:30pm. We had wanted to go to the Tee Off in Santa Barbara but my friend had moved to Ventura. So he researched the restaurants in the area and came up with this place. Excellent old school find in Ventura. Will return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Musedoc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Horrible service...great classic steak house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

For a very special occasion, we chose Prime Steakhouse. The ambiance and décor are in the classic steakhouse fashion. In the beginning, our server was professional and helpful. We choose the Prix Fixe menu. They had a few additions to the appetizer portion, including mussels and crab stuffed mushrooms. Although my guest chose the mushrooms, the waiter said he wrote down mussels by mistake, so that was what was brought out. Since the appetizers came out at different times, we each sat and watched as the other enjoyed their appetizer. Our meal came, and again the waiter screwed up our order and left off the "surf" portion of my guest's meal. When I commented that he needed to get it together, he complained that he had gotten too many tables all at once. This was a week night and the place had few tables, but it was definitely not busy. After finishing our bottle of wine, the waiter offered up that we could order a glass of the same wine. We agreed and then watched as the glasses of wine sat ready on the bar while our waiter poured wine at the table next to us, chatted with another server and other waiter business. By the time, I caught his attention, we had finished our meal, so I cancelled the additional wine. Although the food was very good, our entire evening was over shadowed by crappy service. Thanks Bill for making our celebration an annoying experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salesmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sinatra Night at Prime is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to listen to a look-alike young Sinatra, dance and share a unique and romantic dinner with your sweetheart for a night of great food and easy listening. Also, they have the best prime rib in California.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“With $25 coupon, WOW what a bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Prime steak house is an outstanding restaruant. With their $25 coupon you get an amazing 3 course dinner: choice of 5 plus appetizers, 4 salads, and 5 main dishes (steak, prime rib,chicken, fish). They also have a full menu of delicious food. The wine list is extensive and a full bar is available. Owner, Jan, is most welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RollsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing