We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely Disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Bell Motel

Mission Bell Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mission Bell Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Ventura B&B and Inns
Goleta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I came here with my boyfriend because it was late and this was the only place we could find with vacancies in our price range. It was SO gross and everything was ugly. Just picture the most ghetto room you can imagine. The floor felt sticky, the lamp was just a lightbulb on a pole, the bed was hideous, the bathroom was very run down. I felt dirty just being there. The manager told me on the phone it would be $60, but when I got there he said it'd be $100 something. I called him out on it and he lowered the price to $70, but kept trying to get me to take the jacuzzi room. Very skeezy. I've since stayed at several other cheap hotels in the Ventura, and this was the worst one. I would HIGHLY recommend Crystal Lodge, it's actually cheaper, but SO much nicer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

It’s not the cheapest place available. I stayed in a room with a king sized bed that included a separate kitchen. The room was clean. The kitchen had a Mr. Coffee Jr, a four burner stove with oven, sink, refrigerator and freezer, plus a few mugs -- but no utensils, plates, pots or pans. The room had a walk in closet. All the rooms are at ground level; I never heard any noises from other occupants. You park immediately in front of the door to your room.The motel is located next to the Pacific View Mall, so it was easy walking distance to the mall’s food court. The motel’s also located on a residential street, with pleasing houses to stroll past if you wanted to take a walk. The couple who run the place were not fluent in English, but they were sincere and wanted me to be satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

No welcome on arrival. No Maps . Couple could barely understand English and our booking reference they had on a scrap of paper. Advertised as with Kitchenette, but no crockery or pots and pans. When I complained we were given 2 dinner plates, 2 bowls, 2 frying pans and a saucepan, and later 2 mugs. No cutlery and no kettle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a no-frills hotel that has a bed bathroom and rooms are realitively quiet. and also have covered parking which is very beneficial case it's raining but overall it was great and I would stay again. Was the cheapest we could find.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xcellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We arrived around midnight to an area that was completely sold out. The owner took full advantage of that and charged us $170 for a 1/2 star, at best, motel. The outside was cute in the dark. The inside was shabby. We would have asked for our money back and gone a little further south except when we arrived in the motel office the guy was conveniently on the phone saying he "only had one room left and it was $170 and he could not wait an hour". He "obviously" was selling us the last room and as he'd turned down a customer for us would not be obliged to refund our money if we complained after we saw the room. A pretty good scam and we were suckered. After we left the next day I called to find the actual room rate was $55.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmichaelNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

I pulled into this motel becuse it looked like the motels I remembered from my childhood. Each room with it's own covered parking area, that southern California architecture was the draw. The manager was firly high pressure in his sales when I balked at the price, $129/night. He walked me to the room to show me the value I would be getting. Red flags for me, that I ignored because of the charm of the structure, were that it seemed to be populated with people living there, rather than staying overnight there. Men wandering the parking area in their pajamas smoking and talking to other residents. I agreed to the price because it was a weekend and I was tired. The room was clean and the bathroom had just been renovated. It lacked air conditioning and I was worried about leaving the windows open because of the other residents. The kitchenette lacked a coffee maker but the manager found one somewhere and brought it to the room. It was not clean, but functional after washing it out. I was awoke at about 2:30 by loud banging in the room next door and a loud arguement that lasted over an hour. I slept little and left early. The manager takes pride in his establishment as evidenced by the cleanliness and general appearance of the motel. He was sweeping the drive when we checked out. I think he is trying to keep the place going by taking in renters. I would not stay again.

  • Liked — The look of the motel
  • Disliked — More of a rental than a motel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
2.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#10 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Bell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Bell Motel

Property: Mission Bell Motel
Address: 3237 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93003
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mission Bell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mission Bell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Bell Hotel Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing