We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Quarry Bonk
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly place, good value”
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This was right off the highway, which was welcome, but still pretty quiet (and I'm a light sleeper). Clean and friendly (on the front desk, Charles Ramirez was particularly helpful advising on restaurants -- there's not much close by, but the hotel shuttle took us to a good area and brought us back). The breakfast was pretty good, and the hotel also offered free fruit and snacks in the lobby area. Free Internet in the lobby area, too. Good value all round.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffAstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    78
    42
    10
    9
See reviews for
39
39
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

You have to kind of figure out how to find it amongst the one way streets off the downtown i-10 exit, but once you do, as far as El Paso goes this is a very nice hotel. The building is older but the rooms are nice and the location is very central to anywhere you want to go in El Paso. From the steakhouse to the far east to business west of the university, it is easy to reach from this location. Staff is very friendly and lately you can get a 3,000 priority club points bonus for staying here, only El Paso locatiion (or anywhere in southern new mexico/ el paso) that I can find with this option lately. The workout room is a bit of a dungeon and as a runner where El Paso is intimidating to run in, this is a bit of a downer, but all in all a nice hotel for the value.

Pros: location, staff, cleanliness

Cons: Difficult to navigate to/from once near, workout room

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My colleague and I booked this hotel at the last minute because the other lodging we had was, to say the least, substandard. What a treat HI Express was! It is centrally located in El Paso, and about 30 seconds away by car to I-10, so it's very easy to get on the interstate from here--convenient if you're working from Fort Bliss and also convenient if you want to venture downtown after work for a bite to eat or to go to one of the musuems or go shopping--those features are all within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel staff was VERY nice and ALWAYS professional. Every staff member I ran into greeted me warmly and asked if I needed anything. When the business center was full, Alex at the front desk went out of his way to get me my boarding pass, and let me use the front desk's computer to print the boarding passes out. Right when we checked in, one of the clerks called my hotel room and asked if I had everything I needed in the room.

The hotel rooms were very nice and comfortable, especially when you can get one that has the microwave and refrigerator in it. The bedding was clean and modern (no horrific 1970s bedspread) and the room was spotless every single day I stayed there. In the mornings, the hotel has a breakfast bar with different items every day so you won't get tired of eating the same food, and the quality is pretty good as well--cheesy omlettes (yum!), gooey cinnamon rolls, good coffee, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. In the afternoon there are delicious cookies at the front desk and on Wednesday nights they have a nice manager's reception with free drinks and hors d'ouvers, although when I was there the hotel was serving a free full dinner for guests.

If you want to get a work-out in, there is a small fitness room with an elliptical trainer, a recumbent bike, and two treadmills. All of the equipment is fairly new, which is nice.

The only issue I had with the HI Express was that my wireless internet never worked, but there is internet on the computers in the business center, although the business center is small. However, that glitch was minor in comparison to all of the other amenities.

I would definitely stay here again when I am in El Paso.

  • Liked — Good Value and Nice Hotel Rooms for Business Travelers
  • Disliked — Problems with the Internet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

This hotel is right on the edge of downtown and is easy to walk all over the area-even into Juarez. It has a nice SW look and is what you would expect from this chain. A couple of door showed signs of battle fatigue but still would close. It is clean and everyone is friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Location downtown and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Doors with battle fatigue
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel. The hotel is located right off I-10 in downtown El Paso and I basically picked this hotel based on the location only. Upon check in I found out that the staff is very motivated and friendly. The hotel puts together a wonderful happy hour for all guests between 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. with excellent Mexican food, deserts, beer and wine.
I would have to say that this was one of best happy hour presentations I have seen at a hotel and this sure beats places like Embassy Suites.

The other things that stood out were the very comfortable bed, nice linens, a squeeky clean bathroom and a working and fast internet connection in the room. Overall a great experience.

  • Liked — Finally a clean and comfortable hotel room
  • Disliked — The location of the pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TX1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I stayed at the Holiday Inn El Paso over the week for a business trip. This hotel is better than the average Holiday Inn Express. They have a driver that can take you to the border and pick you up, as well as take you to the airport. He was more than willing to help you anytime within reason (before 11). The hotel also had a good gym, which is hard to find nowadays in most Holiday Inn Expresses. Overall, a great hotel near the business district.

  • Liked — the hotel van
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbird090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I chose this Holiday Inn based on the prior reviews, mainly for its location. It is very easy to get to off the I-10 (exit 19b coming from the west and 19 from the east), and just as easy to get back on. No downtown driving necessary. There is a large parking lot in front of the hotel, with easy access from two streets.

However, it is within easy walking distance of everything in downtown El Paso, including walking over the border for the afternoon.

My room was excellent, comfortable in every way. The staff are very friendly, and I had no trouble with noise (I asked for a room not facing the highway - and the windows keep out street noise).

Restaurants nearby tend to close early, but the Camino Real Hotel restaurants and historic sky bar are opened late, and only a ten minute walk.

The buffet breakfast is available at 6:30, and is adequate (not great).

I was quite happy with this choice.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Nearby restuarants close early - but Camino Real is 10 minute walk.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gardner Hotel
Gardner Hotel
#49 of 81 in El Paso
52 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
5.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Address: 409 E Missouri St, El Paso, TX 79901-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the Downtown area right off of Interstate 10. We are a non-smoking hotel with 110 rooms, 9 floors. We offer free deluxe american breakfast which includes: cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits w/ gravy, cinnamon rolls, muffins, juice, coffee, cereals, and much more. We offer free internet wireless throughout the hotel and in each room. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and surrounding areas. We have a gift shop, cardio room, business center, and an outdoor seasonal pool. We also offer free complimentary newspaper. We have a Manager's Reception every Wednesday night from 5:30pm - 7:00pm where you can enjoy our dinner buffet with wine, beer, soft drinks, and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central Hotel El Paso
Holiday Inn El Paso
El Paso Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing