We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable/Clean Downtown Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

So Holiday Inn Express is the most affordable/quality hotel in the downtwon area. Was just there for the night of a concert, it looks like they are doing some reservations and updating. The rooms were a little outdated, but clean and very comfortable beds. I think I was most impressed with the staff, the shuttle service was great. Was nice to be able to get on the shuttle to the venue. The only draw backs were the shower, real low flow. Also, had to try three ice machines on different floors before one work. Its a good place though, and if you are wanting to stay downtown under $100.00....was a good choice

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByWayofTaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are very happy and thankful for the great comments regarding our staff and shuttle service as our staff works very hard to provide the best of service.
We have checked all ice machines and happy to report they are all working OK, again, we are thankful for the guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here because it was close to the office I would be using while in El Paso. The razor-wire fence around the parking lot should have been my first clue. (Actually, the fact the the only outdoor picture of the hotel on their website were taken at night should have been my first clue, but I digress).

I checked in, went up to my room....and there were ladders and tools and dropcloths all over the place...huffed back down to the front desk with my luggage and requested a different room. Went back upstairs to the new room and....someone's luggage was in the closet. Glad they didn't hear me come in, since I heard the shower running. Back to the front desk, where I was greeted with an eye-roll. Got a 3rd room, which was actually vacant, but was still being cleaned. OK, no biggie, I can wait. It smelled musty and when the housekeeping staff was done 'cleaning', the room was still visibly dirty. I called the front desk and was told that the hotel was full and there was nothing they could do. It was hard to believe that the hotel was full because at 11:30 that night, the parking lot was mostly empty.

Fortunately, my company's travel agency was able to move me to a different hotel for the remainder of my stay. I would not stay at this HIE if it had the last room in El Paso (ok, maybe then, but the Super 8 and Motel 6 would have to be full before I'd even think about it).

Oh, and breakfast was nothing to write home about, either.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, try a different hotel. There's just not a good room to be had in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are very sorry thi guest did not have a pleasant experience, guest feedback is very important to us and it is taken very seriosly. Our staff training is on going as our goal is to provide the best of service, guest comments are always used to improve our operation. Again we are very sorry this guest did not have a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Yes, the hotel is an older building and is having some work done in the basement and the room decor is a little dated, but THE STAFF IS EXCELLENT. If asked, I swear they would bend over backwards for you.
When I first checked in, the room I was in didn't get a good internet connection. I told the front desk and they moved me to a room on a different floor. In that room I had a very strong connection. The last night I was there the hotel lost its internet. Even though it was not the fault of the hotel or its staff, if that hadn't happened, I'd give them 5 out of 5 stars.
They are in the downtown area and are just off Mesa and CLOSE to the freeway, its about a half block away. Just west of the hotel on Mesa there are to many restaurants to count.
I WILL be staying there again my next time in EL PASO!

Thank You to the staff - front desk, night shift, and breakfast. A job well done!

Room Tip: Routers are on the odd numbered floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for such great comments regarding our staff, they do work very hard to provide the best of service and our guest are their #1 priority. We have tested our internet access to make sure our guests have good connectivity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Arrived to find the hotel doing some kind of refit! Checked out the next day and while still in the taxi I discovered my phone was not with me so my friend contacted the hotel as it was left in the room only to be told it wasn't ! No way.

Room Tip: Don't go near and if you do don't leave valuables in your room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are very sorry this guest lost his cell phone, as soon as the call was received requesting for us to look for the phone we throughly search the room as it had not been cleaned by the Housekeeping staff unfortunately we were unable to find the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel undergoing renovations, looking good so far. Staff friendly, GREAT dinner recommendation (Ruli's International Kitchen), free shuttle to and from! Perfect location. Easy to get around.
Only complaint: housekeeping disregards, 'save resources, reuse towel' option. I commented to manager and notice Guest Services and Hotel Managers are diligent about follow up.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuraMater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions regarding our hotel, our renovation in the lobby area and breakfast room is near completion and looking great! thank you for noticing our staff friendliness as they are very committed to provide the best of service.
We have forward your comments to our Housekeeping Manager regarding the alert on saving resources such as water as we do support them.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my 2nd business trip to El Paso and I opted to stay downtown because it was affordable and I wanted to see if it was better than other locations. I truly appreciate the hotel for accepting and or honoring the state rate for TX employees as well.

I do appreciate the affordable cost since I travel often for work. The front desk personnel was professional and personable. As another person pointed out.... it appears that the hotel is undergoing some upgrades or changes which are visible in the hotel lobby. It seems as though they just started because even though the rooms now have flat screens the aesthetic decor and fixtures are still from 1980's era. I also noticed that my AC would not maintain a cold temperature and that the bathroom exhaust fan did not work.

The front desk was sweet enough to recognize me as a Platinum Priority Club member and also to provide me a microwave and small personal fridge in my room. I was informed that the parking situation is sticky since people want to park in the hotel parking lot because there are many bars and restaurants nearby.

To be honest I think it would best that they demolished the old dated hotel and started from scratch because it is a pretty old. I would recommend that they include an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness center, updated business center and don't forget a strong WiFi service for those of us who need a strong internet access.

I will continue to return as long as the owners of this hotel maintain a good hotel rate for those of us who work for the state and frequently travel. I recommend the hotel also provide a couple of washers and dryers so that I don't have to go looking for a laundromat.

Room Tip: If you don't want to drive your vehicle Holiday Inn has a shuttle that will take you around to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conejito2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay, we are very happy our front desk staff was proffessional and personable as they do work very hard to provide the best of service. Our hotel lobby and breakfast room renovation is near completion and looks great, our business center was also renovated and it is more spacious and practical.
Also thank you for being one of our Priority Club Platinum Members and very glad your status was recognized at check in.
Finally, glad to report our next plan for renovation does include improvements in our guest rooms, again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed one night during a trip across Texas. The hotel is dated, but is currently under renovation. It will likely be a much nicer stay upon completion. We slept well and didn't have any irregular issues arise. For being downtown, it was pretty quiet. The breakfast was the Holiday Inn Express standard, which we always enjoy. I'd stay again, but wouldn't pay a premium for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay, we are renovating our hotel lobby and breakfast room and this project is near completion, the feedback from our guest regarding the renovation has been very positive.
We are glad you've found other services to meet your needs, hope to see you again, should your travels bring you to El Paso.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites El Paso North
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central

Address: 409 E Missouri St, El Paso, TX 79901-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range: $94 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the Downtown area right off of Interstate 10. We are a non-smoking hotel with 110 rooms, 9 floors. We offer free deluxe american breakfast which includes: cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits w/ gravy, cinnamon rolls, muffins, juice, coffee, cereals, and much more. We offer free internet wireless throughout the hotel and in each room. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and surrounding areas. We have a gift shop, cardio room, business center, and an outdoor seasonal pool. We also offer free complimentary newspaper. We have a Manager's Reception every Wednesday night from 5:30pm - 7:00pm where you can enjoy our dinner buffet with wine, beer, soft drinks, and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central Hotel El Paso
Holiday Inn El Paso
El Paso Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing