We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable Accommodations”
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed here for a night and a family member stayed here for two nights. The lobby has a beautiful modern Southwestern decor and the staff is very hospitable. There is plenty of parking near the buildings where the rooms are. While the hotel it is right off the freeway, I did not hear any noise from the cars passing by. The rooms were nice and spacious. There are several computers (the busines center) accessible to guests for free internet (though a bit of a slow connection). We did not dine in the restaurant, but enjoyed a cocktail at the bar. If you are looking for delicious Mexican food, you MUST go to Leo's! State Line which is down the street from the hotel offers excellent BBQ!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lololas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    141
    57
    31
    20
See reviews for
142
98
28
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Upon check in the hostess said our room was not ready but would be within 10 minutes. Seeing that it was pretty close to 3 pm I understood. I told her we would return as we had errands to run. We returned about 430 pm and our room was still not ready. Noticing our frustration she changed our rooms. Problem solved an hour and half later with two young boys.
The rooms are very spacious. It is nothing to really brag about but they are roomy. If you are on the second floor be sure to map out the closest route to your room from the stairs. There is only one elevator in the whole hotel. There are over 100 rooms and only one elevator. Getting from the front desk to the back buildings is like a maze. A series of twists and turns.
The pool is nice and the fitness room is very well equipped. I hung out at the bar and you need to see Victor. He gave great ideas for dinner and breakfast.
I do give them credit because there are hand sanitizer pumps everywhere to avoid swine flu epidemics.
Overall the hotel is in a great location. The check in was slow and cleaning service must start from the elevator and back. It was nearly 2 pm when they came to clean our room. Also for some reason a crib was in our room and we asked them to take it out which they did, a day later.
Note that the closest Casino is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CernaEstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

This Holiday Inn was a welcome refuge after a long drive through Texas enroute to New Mexico. Room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was discounted under our plan but worth paying for if not. Omelet bar and buffet as well as table service. Very pet-friendly and although there were no elevators, the layout was more akin to a condo or apartment complex so the stairs and distance from the car were fine. Despite having several (some boisterous) college football players in the surrounding rooms, the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knittsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We chose this hotel because it was near our son's apartment. The hotel provides free shuttle service to your choice of reasonably distant designations. They picked us up at the airport upon arrival and later took us to a restaurant. The lay out is more like a little apartment village with multiple courtyards in between buildings, so it was very quiet. Could not hear any traffic noise although it is located on interstate 10. The outdoor pool and spa were refreshing, always clean. The lobby, bar, restaurant have all been tastefully recently remodeled. The pillow top beds were not very plush, bathroom tiny. Wireless internet worked great in our room. Fine but not free breakfast offered in the restaurant every morning. Standing on one of the many balconies, you could see a great nearby fireworks show on July 4th. Husband enjoyed golf at Painted Dunes. (Beware of rattlesnakes and road runners!) Viva El Paso!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giuliasgardenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2009

On a recent stay at this hotel I was greeted in the usual happy upbeat manner and noticed that the staff cares enough to have placed large containers of hand sanatizer through out the lobby and business center areas. Wash your hands stop the flu. I wish all hotels would do the same in the areas where there are computers with public access!
This hotel is very well managed and is in a great location for either the business traveler or vacationer. Clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable price.
I stay at this hotel because they always treat me as a person not just another # passing by.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This was a surprie trip from my children to celebrate Mothers Day. I found the location and the hotel staff to be exceptional! We didn't have to ask yet they delivered. Our room was light and airy and we foung the area to be a new favorite place. We will dfinately book again at the Holiday Inn in Sunland Park! We recommend you do too!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callen1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I'm sorry to spoil the flow of positive reviews of this hotel, but I found it in dire need of refurbishment. It was dark and dank and depressing.

Our room was in one of the numerous blocks in the grounds and it was the worst room of our fly-drive holiday. The 'grounds' consist of a few plants planted between the blocks.
We had both breakfast and an evening meal there and the food was not particularly good and neither was the service.

As for El Paso we didn't venture out much mostly because it did not look very pleasant at all (quite industrial and run down).

Needless to say we will not return to El Paso nor the Holiday Inn there.

  • Liked — Half way between Tucson and Carlsbad
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
9.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
9.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham El Paso Airport
9.1 mi away
Wyndham EL Paso Airport Hotel and Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
5.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
Address: 900 Sunland Park Drive, El Paso, TX 79922-1324 (Formerly Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland Pk Dr & I-10 W)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in El Paso
#8 Family Hotel in El Paso
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full-service hotel located in El Paso's west side. Minutes away from El Paso International Airport, Fort Bliss, The University of Texas at El Paso, and tons of shopping. Free breakfast is always included with your stay as well as 24-hour shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland & i-10 w. Hotel El Paso
Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland And i-10 w.
El Paso Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing