We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in El Paso
Thailand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was the perfect place to get a feel of the old town and stay in a very comfortable hotel. The room was spacious and well-appointed, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The staff could use a bit of training as they seemed a bit disorganized and lack the professional touch you'd expect of this kind of accommodation. In all, it was a good experience, however, and we'd recommend this for anyone staying overnight in El Paso.

Very easy off and on the highway to San Antonio as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    103
    80
    78
    77
See reviews for
48
99
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Not a good choice. Stay on the first floor. Look around. Then leave.

The rooms smell. They are simply worn out. Not enough outlets to plug everything.

The hot water is either scalding or non existent. The mattress is terrible and there is no box spring.

Many lights are out making the rooms and hotel seem dark and dingy.

The gift shop is two vending machines that dispense one year out of date Cokes. You will be thirsty all the time.

The staff kind of tries, but not too hard. There seems to be a lack of supervision. No you're welcomes when you say thank you and you have to ask for everything. Waited forever for coffee and juice at one of the meals.

Do not hold a conference or stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mamiller1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Way past it's sell by date, but I still enjoy staying here. Front desk staf is improving, but it was really bad in the past. Sales and catering staff first class.

Food is good in bar, but breakfast deal is weak.

I want to support this old gem, but management needs to kick in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I'm glad to see that our work and effort in our Front Desk is being noticed. We promise to continue working diligently and daily to better serve you.
Always at your service,

Enrique De la Cueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Checked in for a business trip. The room I am in smells like smoke and they would not move me. Actually made me sick! Then I asked what floor the fitness center was on and was told it was closed due to a flood. I asked for a alternative gym close by and was told there were none. The service is so lackadaisical that it borders on funny. The hotel is old and tired and it shows. The room rates are cheap and now I know why. You are better off anywhere in El Paso but here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It's a grand old hotel, lots of history, elegant in its own way, but really past its prime. Very convenient to the convention center, close to a couple of very nice restaurants (Cafe Central and Anson 11) but really is in need of a makeover. If the rate is less than later model hotels in the area, not bad, but if they are trying to pass themselves off as a 4 star place.... don't buy it. Biggest negative for me was the noise, the windows are old and single pane, so street noise is very noticeable. Can't say I won't be back, but it is not tops on my list. It could be a great place with a makeover, lots to work. The staff was quite nice, very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: watch the side of the hotel facing the nightclub across the street, very noisy till the band quits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWiseTrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

An good hotel, that was once special, but clean and very large rooms with comfortable beds.
We preferred to stay here rather than a chain to get the feeling of the town. The dome bar still exists and has a little weekday crowd as we passed by.
The service was friendly. We had a little problem in the room with a water spigot and it was fixed immediately.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Camino Real located in the heart of El Paso's downtown is a beautiful hotel from the outside and pretty cool inside, The front desk was polite and helpful . But the rooms were just so-so. You would expect something really special for the price. The bathroom smelled like mold and the tile and tub were very old and worn. Beds were pretty comfortable ,linens could have been nicer also.
over all a nice hotel if you want to be downtown and close to the attractions and shops.

note : don't look like a tourist when walking around and keep your bags close.

Room Tip: Dont get a room towards the street .windows are thin and you will hear the sirens of police cars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 138DM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Property: Camino Real El Paso
Address: 101 S El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing