We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, but could be FAR better.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in El Paso
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, but could be FAR better.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I just completed a 2 week Southwest road trip, and on a few occasions we pulled into a town and grabbed a hotel at the last minute. We are far more into historic hotels with character than staying at your average chain, so I was pleased when I was able to pull up the Camino Real on our phone as we approached El Paso and needed a place to lay our heads for the night. We called them up and asked if there were any rooms available, and the person who answered confirmed there was for $100 a night. He was very nice and even funnier when we met him in person!!!

When we walked into the lobby, I noted that for a registered historic hotel the place didn't seem that historic, except for a few details like the grand staircase. At some point this place must have been renovated but whoever did it didn't seem too concerned with keeping the place at least somewhat in the time period. We walked around The Dome Bar and the restaurant and both were REALLY cool, and I only wish we had gotten a chance to experience both when they were open!

Anyway, our room was perfectly nice but the mattress desperately needs to be replaced. It was the worst bed on our whole trip. Within an hour of checking in our toilet backed up and we had to send up for a plunger. we tried to take care of it ourselves but that proved to be a bad idea as the toilet completely overflowed and flooded the bathroom the next morning! We called down to the front desk and asked if we could get a key to an adjoining room so we could at least use the toilet and not have to go all the way down to the lobby, but they said no. Maintenance soon came up and unclogged the toilet but we were almost ready to check out at that point.

Anyway, I would definitely consider coming back here again, especially as it seems the downtown area is really getting a makeover and I'd be interested to do some more exploring. The staff here were all very nice and I really want to have a drink in the Dome Bar sometime!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We concur that our Bar featuring a custom Tiffany dome are one of our most special highlights in our Hotel and I apologize that you weren’t able to enjoy on your stay. Your feedback on the other points was shared with our team, we are working on the remodeling plan to better serve you in the upcoming years. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    103
    80
    78
    78
See reviews for
48
99
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Why Did I Stay Here? I transferred from Amtrak to Greyhound and needed an overnight stay. Of the downtown hotels, the Camino Real, the Doubletree and Holiday Inn Express, the Camino Real was the closest to the transportation facilities. I checked Trip Advisor prior to booking and was fully aware that the reviews were mixed. But I took a chance because of the convenience factor and was well-satisfied.

The Room: I had a large room with a view of the plaza. The room was clean and well-maintained, although someone dented the wall. The room was furnished with nice period furniture. The TV located in a dresser cabinet was not a flat screen; I did not turn it on to test the quality. The room only contained one chair, that being at the desk. The spacious bathroom had nice amenities.

Dining: The hotel has an attractive upscale dining room that you enter through a beautiful domed bar. There's also a large Mexican restaurant on the premises with an early breakfast starting at 6 AM; lunch and dinner are also served. A Starbucks and the Anson Eleven restaurant are located a few steps from the hotel. I ate dinner at Anson Eleven and was satisfied. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as my bus departure was early.

Stupid or Duped? I planned calling the hotel directly to book a reservation. I did a web search for the hotel site and dialed the number. I soon became aware that I wasn't conversing directly with the hotel; I assumed it was the chain's central reservations. When I got my e-mail confirmation, I was surprised it was from Expedia; I thought perhaps (wrongly) that Expedia was handling their reservations. I got my credit card bill before leaving on the trip. To my surprise I was billed in advance for the room. Not sure if I was duped or stupid from the get-go. However, I had no problem with my reservation upon checking in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words and nice review. We are glad to read that your stay was up to par and that you enjoyed our Texas size rooms. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the near future, and that you get a chance to try our great breakfast or lunch buffet at La Huerta Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First, the bad news: When we checked in, the room we had reserved (Deluxe King) was not available. Now the good news: the manager handled the problem well, upgrading us to a junior suite. And finally, and unfortunately, more bad news: Our suite was very dated--24 inch old (not flat screen) televisions, worn and stained carpet, and furniture that was at least 20 or 30 years old. The carpet had not been vacuumed as we found peanuts on the floor in the bedroom. The drains in the bathtub and the bathroom sink were rusty. All-in-all, just a rather depressing room. This property needs a lot of attention.

In fairness I must mention that the public spaces are quite nice and the Tiffany dome over the bar is worth seeing. We did not try the dining room but it is a beautiful space.

The staff at the front desk were well-meaning and pleasant but it took us forever to check in and check out. A lot of time was spent just staring blankly at computer screens.

Travelers should also be aware that the downtown area where the hotel is located is quite dead--construction projects halted, vacant store fronts, and deserted streets at night.

All-in-all, I would not stay here again. There is a very nice Doubletree property very close by if you want to stay in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rag714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not worth staying at. Water issues and the rooms need updated. I burn myself trying to take a shower ( no cold water just hot). Choose another place. Tvs in the room are old and need updated. So much left to desire.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troop1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is out dated and smells like there were in a flood and didn't feel like putting in new carpet or cleaning the place. The staff is unfriendly and completely incompetent. We were there to work a show but that never happened after the idiotic behavior we decided to just move on. This place makes a budget motel seem like a fancy hotel. Don't waste your money or time. We live in el paso and were going to stay the night to treat ourselves but that would of been more like punishing ourselves. Just pass right on by the Camino real hotel there is nothing worthwhile there at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holdnopunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Camino Real is one of the very few decent options to stay in El Paso. We stayed during renovations and thought that the rooms were a bit pricey for what they were but all in all is a decent place. It is clean, the restaurant is good and location wise it's the best. Make sure to take some time to visit the Dome Bar and have a drink there.

Room Tip: We got a suite that looked over Juarez that was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irvmaelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us a review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had time to visit our Tiffany Dome Bar.

We hope to see you back soon!

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Most of the reviews are pretty accurate. It is an old hotel, built in 1912, but that is part of the charm. Kind of reminded me of an old horror movie.....which was not a bad thing. It has an historic charm that you can't get at the newer places. True, the TV is old (approx. 25in. tube) but the furniture looked original.....which again added to the charm. We did not have any problems with the staff at all. In fact they even offered to leave the pool open longer for us. Overall, I would definitely stay again. It was anything but a ghost town while we were there. In fact, there was a live band across the way in an open plaza which was free and had chairs and room for dancing. It's also right across the street from the Civic Center. We didn't go to it but from our room it looked like maybe a rooftop restaurant next to the plaza and concerts in between there and a Starbucks. In this case, you're paying for the experience and not luxury. One more thing, the pool is outdoors on the 10th floor and not heated.

Room Tip: A new wing was added in 1986, maybe those rooms are more modern. Wouldn't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to let you know that we are currently working on upgrading our TV system, as well as improving different areas or our hotel also the El Paso downtown area is going thru a remodeling phase and we would like to invite you to come back later and experience the new and exciting El Paso downtown.
We are glad that you enjoy the history that is within our Hotel and hope to see you back soon.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Property: Camino Real El Paso
Address: 101 S El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing