We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Happy with room and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in El Paso
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy with room and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed here twice now (with 6 years between visits) and both times I was pleased with the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, and general maintenance. While not in the centre of the action (if there is such an area in El Paso) there's a pub across the street with a good kitchen.

Room Tip: corner rooms are farthest from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernieschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear South CostaRica,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your second visit to Camino Real Hotel. We appreciate your honesty and are glad to hear your stay was up to par. We hope to see you back soon.
Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    102
    80
    78
    77
See reviews for
48
98
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed here a few times but was disappointed this time around. This was a great hotel and in many ways still is but oh my has the always schetchy neighborhood gone even further down hill. It's hard to stay here and even think about venturing out of the hotel. It's in the middle of a combat zone not just dead and night but dangerous. Last time I was here 6 years ago there was a semblance of night life. Now it's not even trying. Shame the staff are doing there best

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santafesoaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Santafesoaker,
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review of our hotel. We would like to let you know that the El Paso Downtown area is going thru a remodeling phase and we would like to invite you to come back and look what’s new. There is a new Starbucks just across the hotel, as well as new exciting dining options around downtown. For spring of 2014 the baseball stadium will be finished just two blocks away. Also the Plaza Theater is just across the street featuring free live concerts in the summer, and wonderful shows all year long. We do hope you give our city another chance, since very exciting things are coming our way.
Hoping we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after all day in travel and order in dinner. After one hour I've been told all the orders were canceled because there was too many for staff to cope. No one called to let me know in advance and advise alternative solutions. Next day ordered appetizers and been left 1 hour waiting. They brought it after a complain to the manager. Overall poor service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kurwa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the room service issue and spoken with the manager in question. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations with the excellent service you should expect of a Camino Real Hotel.

Always at your service.


Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Dirty, smelly, old, internet does not work, TV was made in the 1970's. Peeling wall paper, mold in bathroom. Horrible bed and horrible sheets. Look s good on their web site but it's not accurate. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidtoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Davidtoth,
Thank you for taking the time on giving us a review. I am sorry you feel aggrieved with your visit and I would like to work with you to ensure you are satisfied with the outcome. Your point about having a flat screen TVs in the bedrooms is very valid and we are currently undergoing an upgrade of our TV systems. Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt so negatively about your stay as this is not the feedback we like to receive. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy the Camino Real, please feel free to contact me so I can personally arrange your visit.
Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spacious, quiet, pretty, with a friendly, helpful staff.

If you like chains, this may not be the place for you. The fixtures aren't new; you may have to search for the electrical outlets; the rugs are a bit worn... but the hotel is charming, the rooms and beds comfortable, and the staff is warm and solicitous. We loved being downtown, walking right out the door and being smack in the middle of El Paso's fabulous historic district--great for ambling and photographing--and a short walk from the bridge and a look at what it means to live on the border--a must! Other reviewers have mentioned that the neighborhood feels unsafe. Really??? Perhaps they're not used to cities or neighborhoods that are anything less than affluent. El Paso is not Beverly Hills. It *is* a fascinating cultural and historical mix. And El Paso is the safest city in the U.S.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a high floor, and had a tranquil, comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Ebecker,

Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. We are truly pleased to provide our guests an idyllic historic downtown location just step from the best cultural attractions and blocks away from the border with Mexico. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Camino Real Hotel upon your next trip to El Paso.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Unfortunately it has taken me some time to write a review for this hotel because of the overall discusses and unsatisfactory stay I had there. The plan was to take my wife out for Valentines weekend. When we arrived the area had no parking except indoor valet parking. I can overlook that, because of all the construction going on in the down town area.
When we went in to the hotel they tell me that there is an automatic one hundred dollar incidental charge, which you are supposed to get back if you don’t use it. They charged me for it and the only reason I got it back was because I checked my account two days later, than had to call three separate times in a week to figure out what the holdup was on my return. I ask for an explanation and still have not gotten a clear answer. It took ten days to get my money back.
We went to dinner at the hotel restaurant. At first all was going well, we were seated given menus and asked what we would like to drink. It took twenty minutes to get the drinks. The server was gone for like thirty minutes after that before we saw him again to order dinner. After we ordered dinner the food came about forty-five minutes to an hour later, very nice presentation but it was cold. Usually when you are served you food, someone will ask if everything is ok. We received no attention what so ever. The service was terrible. When we received the bill there was a misunderstanding about the bill because the dinner was supposed to be in an all-inclusive package. The waiter actually got an attitude, when we addressed the issue.
The room was a nice size and that’s about all that was nice about it. The bed was really low to the floor, too low. The TV was mounted on the wall but it was not centered to the bed. It was way off to the right by the windows. We tried to us the heat and the knob broke off in my hand. Went in to the bath room and was saddened when we saw the dirty tub and a stopped up sink. We ran out of there and could wait to get home.
NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeAndrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear LeAndrew Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service we strive to provide, and we do apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. The complaints you expressed are very important to us and we intend to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We will ensure that our staff is aware on the importance of meeting the level of service that is expected as a Camino Real Hotel.

lease feel free to contact me so that I may verbally express my apology to you directly. I will personally make sure that we exceed your expectations while visiting our hotel and restaurants in the future.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The bar is just gorgeous! If you need a hotel, pick something else.
Room was nice size, but just outdated. TV probably 20+ years old, and the bathroom was at the same standard.
Lobby and breakfast area (also a decent Tex-Mex restaurant at night) is nice, but the staff just don't get it. No info about parking, missing coupons for breakfast, etc. They are unprofessional or maybe more correct; appears that they are just there to collect a pay check.
The downtown area has been partly restored, and is ok during day/business time, but definitely not the best place at night. Even more surprising then; the open access garage under the hotel has a totally unrestricted access directly up to all hotel floors! Just doesn't give me a safe and secure feeling.
I hope management changes and the somebody moves in and take charge and use the potential!
Until then, enjoy the bar and stay elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joxarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Joxarn,

Thank you for your review, we truly value the opinions of our customers. We are glad that you enjoyed our Tiffany Dome Bar, and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations on the rest of your stay.
Your point about the TVs in the bedrooms is very valid and we are currently undergoing an upgrade of our TV systems.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations with the excellent service you should expect of a Camino Real Hotel.

Always at your service.


Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Property: Camino Real El Paso
Address: 101 S El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing