We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great finding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in El Paso
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Spend a night at this lovely Hotel, lavishly decorated, the food is excellent, and the service is awesome...the flan is a must! The bedroom carpet needs to be changed, but this is a minor detail, that it is easily overlooked. The bathroom hand lotion and shampoo are very pleasant. It is just a few blocks from the border, so it is easy. The mojitos are delicious and the stained glass vault at the bar is worth gazing at.

Room Tip: The room was spacious and clean, although the carpet needs to be changed, but. This is a minor issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are always trying to improve our hotel and all feedback from our guests helps. I'm glad you are pleased
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    105
    85
    78
    81
See reviews for
48
106
38
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
292 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Camino Real has been around for a very long time..as the 6 generations of my family there in El Paso..i enjoyed my stay there and had no problems. Was clean, everything worked well, the front desk was really nice and polite..have nothing bad to say about it..to all those naysayers..I dont drive when i am on vacation so..i didnt pay for a car in the garage except for one day..close to Juarez where I grew up..so I can go there to see my doctor and dentist, plus do some shopping..only thing bad to say about it was that there were some lose tiles in my room, it was quiet, not outdated..the price is about right..because...I KNOW El Paso..quite well,,my immediate family is still here..and i know about the economy..so will stay here again .definitely..

Room Tip: I really dont know..I will stay here again..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you have a positive view on the hotel and we will continue to work to be the best in El Paaso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I checked in to the hotel on March 16, and the room was very hot. They sent maintenance and then sent me to another room. It was also hot! After moving me five times, I recommended that they just let me stay in the first room. It was hot as heck, but I did not move all night to try and find a breeze somewhere. When I complained to management, they did nothing. They said they would refund my money, but never did. They were very defensive at first and then said they would refund the charges. It never happened. I called American Express and disputed the charged. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you really like it HOT! There is no air condition. They said they were upgrading, but for some reason I did not believe them. It was like CAMPING in the woods!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are sorry you didn't have a positive experience at our hotel. We have made some changes to the hotel and to our air conditioning. Unfortunately it was after you had stayed with us. If you would please contact me at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com so we can arrange for you to stay with us and show you some of our changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

In one word: outdated. And that bad kid of outdated, too. Old fixtures that hadn't been taken care of very well. That's overlookable, especially for the price. What I can't overlook is that I paid for a king size bed, and the gave me a room with a queen without telling me. Then, they told me that it was because they ran out of rooms with kings, and when I asked if I would be getting a refund, they told me no, because it's the same price. On top of that, the faucet dripped allllllll night. We actually had to put a towel in the sink just so we could sleep. The only reason I'd go back to the Camino Real is if I'm attending another late night event in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolSosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
First off thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. It is through these comments we can better the overall experience of our guests. We are currently doing some updates on the hotel in general and we will be going into the rooms in the future, as far as a refund on the different room type please email me at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com so i may assist you with that. I would hate to lose you as a customer because of this, and would appreciate another opportunity to leave you with a lasting positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed the night here with my wife we were downtown for streetfest last year (2011) anyways the bed was as hard as a rock that a caveman would sleep on, the service was terrible they charged my card 2 times & had to wait for over a month to be reinversed but worst of all a spider or something similiar bit my wife in the middle of the night and she still has a scar on her leg from it i dont recommend this place to sleep terrible waste of money, i should have taken the chance & drove home drunk cause sleeping here was no good!!!

Room Tip: Sleep in the holiday inn by sunland park exit or somewhere else, dont sleep here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank yo ufor taking the time to review our hotel. We have made some updates since last year in some areas, we are also always working on the customer service aspect of the hotel. I am sorry you were displeased with your stay and ask to please give us another opportunity to provide the best service and to see for yourself some of the changes made. You can contact me directly at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com and I will make certain to change your mind about our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a bit quirky, but we had a great stay nonetheless. The Dome Bar is amazing! The surrounding neighborhood was shady, but stay inside! Our rooms were spotless and the beds were fantastic. The corner rooms were huge!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they're huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncadooPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We appreciate and welcome all comments, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Staff at this hotel is amazing but other than that, I was underwhelmed. The rooms were dirty and lacked basics such as sufficient electrical outlets. The provided hair blow dryer I swear came from the 70's. The beds were old and uncomfortable and the bathrooms were seriously outdated and I did not feel comfortable even taking a bath. Location wise, it was great. If the staff could be transplanted elsewhere that would be great because they were awesome. The rooms are way over priced, I have stayed in cleaner, nicer, more modern motel 6's. If you are going to stay in El Paso, pay the extra money and stay at the Doubletree. Would not recommend this hotel ever to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuanadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. First off we appreciate the compliments to our staff as we strive to be one of the best hotels in El Paso. We are currently updating parts of the hotel in order to better service our clients. I hope that this experience won't be your last and you give us an opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel. Please contact me directly at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com and I will personally take care of your arrangments. We look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
0.3 mi away
The Gardner Hotel
The Gardner Hotel
#51 of 83 in El Paso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Property: Camino Real El Paso
Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 83 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing