We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The manager saved the day.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
Ranked #68 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The manager saved the day.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Despite reading all the reviews, I was excited about staying at the Camino Real. It used to be where the celebrities stayed when they came to town. Imagine my dismay when all the reviews were right: run down, old faded-color television, uninspired employees, poor bathrooms, lack of attention to detail. On top of all that, I was being charged $6.00/day for parking that, basically, everyone could be/was getting for free. And the hotel allows anyone downtown to park there, so I was, at times, paying to park without an available parking spot. The sign said the manager on duty was a lady named Ada. She wasn't around when I was told to go up to her office. Then I was directed to Ismael (JR) Rodriquez.

It appears that Mr. Rodriquez cares about this property and the guests who come. He refunded my parking fees, and was very willing to do whatever he could to make me happy. Hopefully the management and owners of the Camino Real - El Paso will hire more personnel like Mr. Rodriquez.

My recommendation: book directly with the hotel or separately on Priceline or Travelocity (not in a package vacation deal where you don't know what you are paying for which part of your vacation) so you know what you are paying. Tell the management when something isn't right. Hopefully Mr. Rodriquez or someone similar with make it right, like he did for me.

Room Tip: Check your room before you accept it. I didn't really get what I had asked for on Orbitz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekinwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    100
    80
    78
    77
See reviews for
48
97
36
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My family and I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and love it! The hotel is beautifully appointed and the service has always been friendly and courteous. The only minor issue that we have experienced is the sometimes long wait at the front desk counter. The hotel is located right in the middle of downtown El Paso, within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, museums, the city's Convention Center and downtown nightlife. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The main lobby area is gorgeous, as is the Dome Restaurant. This is always our first choice hotel when we travel to El Paso.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricksana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Ismael J Rodriguez, the Food and Beverage Manager made sure our birthday weekend was perfect. Thank you so much for the personal attention which made our yearly stay perfect.

Room Tip: When reserving for a special stay be sure to let them know what you are wanting ahead of time so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel looks great from the outside and even better from the lobby, but that is the extent of it, period. The Doom Bar inside is cool, but the rooms are atrocious. The hotel wreaks of mold & mildew from years of using evaporative cooling. I booked a huge room with an attached large living room - supposed to be one of the nicest and definitely one of the most expensive ($300+), but it looked like communist-block era accommodations: no pictures on the walls, everything was run down & looked like it belonged in a hotel in which you pay by the hour. One of the worst I've ever stayed in.

The staff is nice and professional.

Don't waste your money here, unless you're going to the bar only. You'd do better at a Motel6, no joke.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tat3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We use these to help improve our service as well as any maintenance issues we are unaware of. The cooling system we use in the hotel is refrigerated air. As far as the smell you speak of I am sorry we didn't reach your expectations, I would hope you would give us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

So disgusted I checked out early! I booked this hotel for a last minute business trip. It seemed appealing, especially for a good price. I quickly realized that I made a huge mistake. The hallway had trash on the floor, which stayed there throughout my stay. My room smelt like a case of air freshner was dumped all over the bed. There were multiple hairs on the bathroom floor, which by the way was a sticky mess. There were two lights burnt out above the sink which DID’T DRAIN! The house keeping staff failed to provide new toiletries for two straight days and failed to clean up the hairs on the floor. The fitness center looked like a garage gym. There was a variety of used free weights, small television, limited cardio equipment, no sanitizing wipes, etc. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Sorry your stay wasn't what you expected, we would like another chance to improve on the points where we failed please call or email me 915-258-4462 or jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

First of all this hotel is in America so why isn't their website in english? And why does the staff speak spanish to you first instead of English? The room was very outdated, the bathroom fixtures were disgusting! The tub faucet had holes in it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RNtravelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We are constantly working to improve every part of the hotel from the staff to updates please email or call me we would love another opportunity to show you a better experience. 915-258-4462 or jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Camino Real is a very charming hotel. The rooms are big with great views of downtown El Paso and Juarez. Even if you aren't staying at the hotel, you should have a drink in the dome bar. It has wonderful stained glass windows and a gorgeous Tiffany (or perhaps Tiffany-style) stained glass dome. The hotel staff is friendly and the location is great; you are right next to the Museum of Art and The Plaza, both worth a visit. Admittedly downtown El Paso has seen better days, but this hotel is a real charmer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
6.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Property: Camino Real El Paso
Address: 101 S El Paso St, El Paso, TX 79901-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing