We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Big City" has come to El Paso!”

Southwest University Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The "Big City" has come to El Paso!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I visited SU Park last night and it was GREAT!! Excellent, friendly staff, lots of food selections, plenty of restrooms, and not a bad seat in the place. The view of the mountains, the surrounding buildings, and the lit up star on the mountain when it got dark was beautiful. I highly recommend a visit..and I am not even a baseball fan!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasLady40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“PLAY BALL”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My dad and I got some tickets to go see the new AAA baseball game at the new stadium. We had great seats. We went the first week it was open. We were on the second level by the first base. nice park. We were with several people from church. will be going again this weekend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Joining the ranks of the elite”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This new facility joins the ranks of the Davenport and Louisville minor league ballparks in beauty, largeness & facilities/amenities. It's ultra-modern yet, the architects designed an old-world feeling in its bones. Whether you are watching from behind homeplate, the grill-pub building or the lawn seats, every location offers a birds-eye view. there is even a large water spray area for the kids behind the lawn seats (only $5!). While there is plenty of parking the only adverse criticisim is the traffic leading into the Abraham Chavez theater parking lot. Finally, this ball park caps off a marvelous build-up to the El Paso downtown area making it once again a vibrant entertainment and cultural epicenter of the SouthWest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SCRoumell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome ballpark!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a brand new ballpark in the heart of downtown El Paso. The park is beautiful and the team fun to watch. The Chihuhuas are the AAA affiliate of the San Diego Padres. For a great afternoon or evening of baseball, you can't beat it. I was worried about the parking, but it was much easier than I imagined. Most lots or garages are $10, which isn't bad, and they are a quick walk away. There is a lot of good food and drinks inside the park, or you can eat dinner in a restaurant nearby and then walk to the park. All-in-all, this is a great thing for the city of El Paso, and you will have a good time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Strykk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
224 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding Venue for Minor League Baseball”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

As fans of minor league baseball, we were excited to attend the opening homestand of the AAA El Paso Chihuauas at their brand new downtown baseball stadium. We attended a night game and a day game, and both were sellouts. Seating was great, with superb sightlines and the Franklin Mountains in the near distance. The selection of available foods was first rate ... this is the first ballpark where one concession stand actually sells hummus and pita ... wow! Parking was readily available nearby, and all the staff were excellent. A really great place to take in a ball game!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TxTrvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest University Park also viewed

 

Been to Southwest University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing