We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strange practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
416 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
“Very strange practices”
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Let me start by saying the property is decent, it was the staff that made it awful. Very strange goings on. I was moving across country and this hotel seemed like the best option. When calling them from the road, they quoted me a rate of $79.00 plus taxes. I was about 1 hour away from El Paso. I held it tentatively and wanted to explore other options so I contacted a friend on the phone and he found the same hotel for the rate of $59.00 on line through their website. Now, I called back the hotel and they stated that we should book it online since it was less expensive. We did that.

I use Wyndham a lot and sometimes get upgraded. When we checked in, the woman at the front desk told me that she would give us the room we booked with two double beds. I just asked very politely if there were any upgrades available. She seemed perplexed by my question. She actually stated that "We were the last ones to get a double bedded room and would not be upgraded." When we saw the people after us check in, they were upgraded to a suite since they needed two double beds.

I asked the front desk person (who was clueless) why they got upgraded and she responded that they had no more rooms with two double beds. Come on, it would have been common sense to give a frequent guest the upgrade instead of a non-frequent guest. I asked if I could speak with the MOD (even though I was very tired).

There was no MOD and then she stated that she had no authority. She then actually contacted the hotel manager! She then stated that the hotel manager had an emergency and would not be able to call back.

This was all very bizarre.

The room was OK (average) but the situation and the lack of communication and bad staff manners was inexcusable. I would opt to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn or another comparable hotel.

  • Liked — The flat screen TV
  • Disliked — No Bravo TV or other premium free channels
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Holiday Inn El Paso Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

This review was from 7 years ago. Since that time we have undergone an extensive hotel property renovation and are now a Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel known for providing our guest with exceptional service, clean rooms, well maintained amenities and a first class onsite restaurant named Burger Theory. We would love to have you come back to see our changes and give us another opportunity to serve you with excellence!

warm regards,

Jerome Hopkins, CHA
General Manager
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
915-772-4088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    145
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
130
72
42
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Service desk personnel were helpful and friendly.
Shuttle driver gave us very poor service to the airport. She pulled over as soon as she got to the terminal building. When I grabbed my suitcase to leave I looked up and saw that our airline gate was down on the other end of the terminal. I pointed and said "Our airline is way down there." She said, “I don’t know”, walked away and got in the shuttle to leave. At that point I realized she never asked which airline we were on. As a matter of fact she never said one word to us until the “I don’t know.” I was particularly upset because on this trip I had to use a suitcase that needed to be carried with no wheels. Carrying 50 pounds that far was a back breaker and it was so unnecessary.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Shuttle service to airport
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makaylalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Holiday Inn El Paso Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

This review was from 7 years ago. Since that time we have undergone an extensive hotel property renovation and are now a Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel known for providing our guest with exceptional service, clean rooms, well maintained amenities and a first class onsite restaurant named Burger Theory. We would love to have you come back to see our changes and give us another opportunity to serve you with excellence!

warm regards,

Jerome Hopkins, CHA
General Manager
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
915-772-4088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I found the hotel to be a nice and comfortable place to stay, although there were renovations underway that had taken some of the water areas out of commission. I think I would have returned except that there was a quartet of feral cats that decided to form a choir group each night around 2 AM and continue their artistic works until about 6 AM, so sleep was impossible. I still hear them a month later! If you stay here, go for an upstairs, outside (away from the courtyard/pool area) room so you don't suffer this problem . . . or bring a slingshot and/or some water balloons. The hotel is nice . . . the cats are a problem.

  • Liked — Old, but somewhat luxurious. Was a nice facility.
  • Disliked — Some things still needed maintenance badly (sliding glass door); singing feral cats were awful!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Signals5K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Holiday Inn El Paso Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

This review was from 7 years ago. Since that time we have undergone an extensive hotel property renovation and are now a Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel known for providing our guest with exceptional service, clean rooms, well maintained amenities and a first class onsite restaurant named Burger Theory. We would love to have you come back to see our changes and give us another opportunity to serve you with excellence!

warm regards,

Jerome Hopkins, CHA
General Manager
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
915-772-4088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

My daughter and I had wanted a weekend get-away for a long time. I had been researching many hotel reviews online for weeks and was skeptical about staying at many. I wanted us to enjoy our stay without paying too much, but also not pay for a cheap place and get a terrible stay. I would call all the hotels and speak to them directly but so many were short with me, gave me too brief or too quickly replys (trying to get me off the phone). I didn't want to stay in a place that would treat me not important over the phone - that would just mean I'd be treated the same if I was there! I called Wingate directly and the gentleman on the phone took time to talk with me, didn't rush me off the phone, and was very pleasant. We decided Wingate and we absolutely loved it! We stayed in a large room with two QUEEN SIZED beds, had a microwave, fridge, HD TV, large work desk, and great size bathroom. The breakfast was fantastick, too! Warm waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, omlets, cereals, muffins, and so much more! There was a large dining area for us to eat in so there was plenty of room. There was always a new El Paso Times there for us to read daily, we enjoyed to spa and swimming pool everyday. There is also a laundry room where guests can wash their own clothes, or they can ask room service to have it done. There is also a business center, but we didn't use it. It was large with computers, work area, and a copy machine. They have large conference rooms as well. Our beds were so comfortable and we had a great night sleep every night. I loved our stay so much that when we travel to SC twice this summer I am booking our stay at Wingate. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting or just wanting a get-away here in El Paso. It was everything I was looking for in a hotel stay: indoor room access, heated pool, spa, FREE WIFI, free HOT breakfast, large rooms and large beds. The staff was very nice and made our stay even better.

  • Liked — Free WIFI, free hot breakfast, two queen beds, quiet & relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Medgirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Holiday Inn El Paso Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

This review was from 7 years ago. Since that time we have undergone an extensive hotel property renovation and are now a Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel known for providing our guest with exceptional service, clean rooms, well maintained amenities and a first class onsite restaurant named Burger Theory. We would love to have you come back to see our changes and give us another opportunity to serve you with excellence!

warm regards,

Jerome Hopkins, CHA
General Manager
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
915-772-4088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Second time staying at the Wingate on business.
Big spacious rooms, very clean, comfortable beds, free business center, free local calls, free wireless internet. Hot Breakfast...bacon, sausage, omeletes., waffles......

Fitness center is open.....staff is very helpful....

Flat panel HD TV...

Convenient Location. I will definitely return!

Better than most of the business hotels in El Paso!

  • Liked — cleanliness and amenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank halifax01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Holiday Inn El Paso Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

This review was from 7 years ago. Since that time we have undergone an extensive hotel property renovation and are now a Full Service Holiday Inn Hotel known for providing our guest with exceptional service, clean rooms, well maintained amenities and a first class onsite restaurant named Burger Theory. We would love to have you come back to see our changes and give us another opportunity to serve you with excellence!

warm regards,

Jerome Hopkins, CHA
General Manager
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
915-772-4088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed at this Hotel because we wanted to relax and rest among life's busy activities. The hotel is advertised having a heated indoor swimming pool and spa. The pool turned out to be OUTDOOR. So we figured we'd enjoy the spa, but then it was closed! Because it needed to be cleaned (They said it would be open NEXT WEEK). Hot continental breakfast - after heating it in the microwave.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Holiday Inn El Paso Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

This review is from 7 years ago. Since that time, We have undergone an extensive renovation and are now a full service Holiday Inn Hotel known for exceptional service!

Warm Regards

Jerome Hopkins CHA
General Manager
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
6351 Gateway West
El Paso, TX 79925
915-772-4088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites El Paso-Airport
5.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham El Paso Airport
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn El Paso Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn El Paso Airport

Property: Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
Address: 6351 Gateway Blvd W, El Paso, TX 79925-3514 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham El Paso)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#3 Business Hotel in El Paso
#5 Family Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn El Paso Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both comfort and convenience, the Holiday Inn El Paso offers modern amenities and deluxe accommodations with our spacious, smoke-free guestrooms and suites, tasteful decor, modern furnishings. Our guestrooms and suites are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access, premium communications capability, lighted work desks, a refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, and comfortable bedding with a choice of soft or firm pillow. Our suites offer all of the comforts of our standard rooms, with the added luxury of comfortable sleeper sofas and separate areas for working and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn El Paso Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham El Paso Hotel El Paso
Wingate El Paso
Wingate Hotel El Paso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing