We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy but not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Happy but not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When my girlfriend and I checked into this hotel we thought it was perfect! We were there to visit our husbands who were getting a short leave prior to deploying over seas. We had decided to share a room the night we came in seeing as our husbands wouldnt be able to join us till the next morning. Surprisingly they were released early and were able to join us the night we flew into the El Paso area. The front desk clerk Tyler was amazing! She had us checked into our single rooms so quick I couldnt believe it was all transfered over and so efficently! We loved that fact that our hotel was away from the main stream of hotels that surround the airport. The only issue we had was with the bar. Our husbands had been having some cocktails at the bar, my girlfriends huband paid for the first rounds, and mine was responsible for the second rounds, when my husband got his bill they charged him double! Not only that but when we tried to explain that the other husband had already paid a portion she told us we were wrong! I was very disconcerning with how rude she was. While the front desk was great and I would stay there again because of that, I would not recommend the bar or the dinning area if that is how they treat their customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    148
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
96
29
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff allowed me to check in early, at about 11 am. The hotel's location on campus was perfect, since I was at a campus event and parking would have been a hassle. Nearby, however, is a "main drag" that has several restaurants and stores. The exercise room is nice, with free weights, machines, and exercise balls. I left very early (before 4 am) and called down for my bill. It was ready for me when I walked by 5 minutes later -- and the clerk gave me good directions. Although I was in the hotel for fewer than 17 hours, I'm saying it's very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeakyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
594 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location near the University of Texas at El Paso. Several restraunts are located in walking distance from the hotel. Also UTEP is next door. The rooms are clean and fresh. The hotel staff are very polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Kuwells - Thank you for your nice review. I want to assure you that we take our guest comments seriously. We appreciate you taking time to let others know your positive experience at our hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The best of the hotel is the staff. The personnel always keep excellent attitud and are willing to help you. Rooms are comfortables and clean. The hotel is located in a very calm area. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GABINO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest - Thank you for your wonderful review. We are honored to have guests, like yourself, that rate our accommodations and service so high stay with us. Please accept my appreciation in sharing your comments.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Full Time Business Traveler: This HGI is located, literally, right on the edge of the University. Staying here expect to see plenty of students going to class/foot traffic during the day.
The hotel is an average building, nothing to look at but not displeasing. Parking(fee) is ample though one likely has to park on the parking structure which entails a little bit of an extra walk to the lobby. I recommend pulling up to the main lobby door, check in, take your bags to your room then go park (getting the key will allow the more direct access through the side door near the pool).
This is my second time staying at this HGI. Staff was friendly and helpful both times. The lobby area is nice and the restaurant/lounge area is also nice. The rooms are standard HGI rooms. They certainly are not exquisitely new but they are far from worn (closer to new than worn). All in room items were good (video/audio, environmental controls, bed, bathroom/shower). Location wise there are standard food, starbucks, marketplace very close by, It is not close to the freeway and takes crossing a handful of lights before getting there.

I recommend it. There are options with more to offer downtown and there are multiple airport options. They do have pricing that is slightly above what I consider "value" but not so pricey that I am discouraged. But this is clearly is the best option for this side of town. It provides a solid, warm, comfortable stay and I doubt you would walk away unhappy at all. I give it 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank All-Fifty-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel and it's staff did an amazing job making us feel welcomed and valued! The food was amazing and made to order! Not one staff member that I encountered had a frown. They all greeted you and pampered you to the best of their abilities! As our conference was at UTEP the location was perfect we were able to walk anywhere we wanted or needed to go! Thank you to the staff for making me feel at home!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and need and they will do everything in their power to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I always stay here when on business in El Paso. t's very clean, quite with very professional and helpful staff. Breakfast is served, as well as cocktails and light dinner. The location is right next to Providence memorial Hospital, UTEP and Las Palmas Medical Center. Close to downtown. 10 minutes from airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn El Paso-Airport
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Property: Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Address: 111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX 79902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in El Paso
#4 Family Hotel in El Paso
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso and across the street from two major medical centers. The hotel is within a 5 block radius of over 50 restaurants, bars and stores. Just one and half miles from the El Paso Convention Center/Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso Hotel El Paso
Hilton El Paso
El Paso Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing