We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Full Time Business Traveler: This HGI is located, literally, right on the edge of the University. Staying here expect to see plenty of students going to class/foot traffic during the day.
The hotel is an average building, nothing to look at but not displeasing. Parking(fee) is ample though one likely has to park on the parking structure which entails a little bit of an extra walk to the lobby. I recommend pulling up to the main lobby door, check in, take your bags to your room then go park (getting the key will allow the more direct access through the side door near the pool).
This is my second time staying at this HGI. Staff was friendly and helpful both times. The lobby area is nice and the restaurant/lounge area is also nice. The rooms are standard HGI rooms. They certainly are not exquisitely new but they are far from worn (closer to new than worn). All in room items were good (video/audio, environmental controls, bed, bathroom/shower). Location wise there are standard food, starbucks, marketplace very close by, It is not close to the freeway and takes crossing a handful of lights before getting there.

I recommend it. There are options with more to offer downtown and there are multiple airport options. They do have pricing that is slightly above what I consider "value" but not so pricey that I am discouraged. But this is clearly is the best option for this side of town. It provides a solid, warm, comfortable stay and I doubt you would walk away unhappy at all. I give it 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank All-Fifty-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 653 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel and it's staff did an amazing job making us feel welcomed and valued! The food was amazing and made to order! Not one staff member that I encountered had a frown. They all greeted you and pampered you to the best of their abilities! As our conference was at UTEP the location was perfect we were able to walk anywhere we wanted or needed to go! Thank you to the staff for making me feel at home!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and need and they will do everything in their power to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I always stay here when on business in El Paso. t's very clean, quite with very professional and helpful staff. Breakfast is served, as well as cocktails and light dinner. The location is right next to Providence memorial Hospital, UTEP and Las Palmas Medical Center. Close to downtown. 10 minutes from airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been coming to El Paso on business for almost a year. We stayed at several different properties originally -- mostly those near the airport or downtown. None of them really impressed us, and a few actually depressed us or annoyed us for various reasons. Then we tried the Hilton Garden Inn near the university. Since that first time, we have always tried to stay here whenever they have availability. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, and they even remember us and act genuinely glad that we're back. (For a couple of Road Warriors -- this is a delight!) Rooms are nice, well lit, and clean. Breakfast can be good or just okay, but it's always convenient. The hotel is near a lot of other dining options for dinner. The fitness center has more cardio equipment than many other Garden Inns, and is clean and well-lit with functioning equipment (in contrast to many other hotels).

Room Tip: If you are a Diamond member, request the upgrade to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Kay - Thank you for taking time to comment on our hotel. We take our guest reviews to heart and alway try to make improvement based on the feedback we get. I am very glad you enjoy our property. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our group was throughly impressed by the quick and great service and warm smiles of this dedicated staff. We used the conference space and all of our needs were met beyond expectation. The event planning staff was responsive, kind, and more than helpful. With more than 10 hotel rooms, a large amount of boxes shipped in before our arrival, and an absolutely messy conference room after our meeting, the staff remained pleasant and always attentive. A true delight!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Kameron M. - Thank you for your nice comments. I am very please we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope to have you back to El Paso and the Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University again in the future.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

There were so many wonderful things about this stay, starting with the midnight check-in by a competent, efficient and compassionate desk-person, who was flexible enough to allow us to change our breakfast coupons to use them for a larger party all on one day. The room was clean and comfortable. The water, at least compared to where we live, was clean and completely drinkable (from the tap, even). Showers are hot and powerful and roomy. Parking is free. The location is at UTEP, convenient to the airport, university, the scenic drive, and highways. But like I started out saying, the people who work here are just the nicest and most competent people I've seen anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay, even though it was short. The room was quiet, comfortable and spacious; the bed was awesome and I actually had two excellent nights' sleep: a rarity on a short trip. The hotel's dining areas were open and inviting, with fireplaces and warm initimate areas in the hotel. Its location is ideal to the meetings I attended. The the entire staff was friendly and welcoming; and I am looking forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
6.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites El Paso-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Address: 111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX 79902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in El Paso
#4 Family Hotel in El Paso
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
Price Range: $93 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso and across the street from two major medical centers. The hotel is within a 5 block radius of over 50 restaurants, bars and stores. Just one and half miles from the El Paso Convention Center/Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso Hotel El Paso
Hilton El Paso
El Paso Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing