We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Close to home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
From CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here due to UTEP football game/Minerpalooza pep rally for two nights. We live near El Paso and staying here is more convenient than driving and finding game parking. Only about a 15 minute walk to the stadium. My family has stayed here in the past and we have always enjoyed our visits. I reserved way back in February knowing the place usually sells out and my rate was only $89.00.

The lobby was a hub of activity for the football game vs. Oklahoma that weekend. This is literally the closest hotel to UTEP...right next to the student union parking lot. We like the lobby...hotel restaurant/bar is right next to the check in desk. We have had meals here in the past and have enjoyed nice lunches during the week.. The hotel has a nice little breakfast buffet which is very good compared to other hotel continental breakfasts. You pay for this one ($11.95), but it includes so much (standard fare: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, etc.), but they will also make to order eggs and omelettes. Additionally you can order from a menu. Good service.

This hotel is very close to a large bar/restaurant area of El Paso...everything from fast food to higher end restaurants are within walking distance. Starbucks, Whataburger, Taco Bell, and McDonalds are about five minutes away as well as the campus Jamba Juice and other campus food venues.

The check in was easy and no problem. We had an upper level room. Rooms are nicely decorated with a large flat screen TV, microwave, and fridge included. Toilet/bath area are both separated from sleepign area. Air conditioning worked great, especially on a hot weekend it was appreciated. Room was clean overall and very quiet.

The pool/hot tub is standard but out ot towners must be careful b/c El Paso is at altitude and the sun cooks you faster here, as I'm sure some OK fans found out who stayed at the pool all day.

The only wear I could see was in the hallways...carpets are showing a little age. The hallways are really wide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear DeltaCa:

Greetings from El Paso, Texas and please let us start by thanking you for your business. We are flatered by all the compliments and do hope you return. On the one unsatisfactory issue of the carpet being worn, we have addressed that issue and carpet in ALL public areas will be replaced in the coming weeks. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    160
    54
    10
    5
See reviews for
105
103
30
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed there this past weekend for four days. Hotel was nice, desk staff were helpful. The coffee was really good, would like to know what they use. Rooms were well insulated from outside noises. Nice decor in lobby, welcoming! Great access to restaurants and I-10. a/c worked well, housekeeping staff was very accomodating and courteous.

On the downside, the breakfast buffet at $12.00 a piece was IMO steep considering the eggs were powdered. The carpeting in the room was really dirty, my white socks were almost black when I left, had to throw them away. The sheets were really thin, had some areas that were almost see through to the point where they looked dirty. The white bed cover was black at the bottom where it meets the floor.

Room Tip: keep your shoes on, don't walk in socks or bare feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear James - Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate getting your comments. I have shared them wth our housekeeping department. We will address our linen and make sure that old linen is discarded. We do have our rooms on a regular rotation for shampooing but clearly did not meet our expectations or yours in this area. I will have your room reviewed. I also shared your comments with our Chef. We will continue to work on improving our breakfast so that guest see the value in our product.
Again, thank you for taking time to evaluate us.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Loved it, great bar with friendly service, rooms are nice and new everything works great and the breakfast is free and plenty full. The staff was very friendly and the drive will pretty much take you anywhere you want to go

Room Tip: some will face the freeway, but i did not hear any traffic really
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We moved from the Doubletree hotel downtown because it was full and we couldn't extend our reservation. We were very happy to find this other Hilton property near the UTEP campus.

If you are a fan of the Hilton brand, and like getting a good breakfast in the morning, and the option of casual dining at night (with a bar) -- this hotel should be on your radar! It's nice to be able to have the option of bugging out of your room and doing some work in the common area of the hotel, where there's some room to spread out. Lots of big chairs and work lighting. I'm sure i gets crazy here during the school year, but it was all business travelers when I was there.

This hotel is right across the street from a drive - thru Starbucks and a local coffee shop/bakery. It's close to a couple of great dining choices, too - try the Mesa Street Grill!

Comfy bed, quiet, easy and free parking -- it's not a cheap property, but it's a good value for what you'll pay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarainVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you for taking time to review our property. It is always a pleasure to hear great comments like yours. I will most definitely share your feedback with my staff. Please come back and see us again.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Not much to say. The Channel 70 Productions crew was moving a grip truck from Ft Worth to San Diego and stayed the night. Arrived late and left early. Quiet rooms, wonderfully cool a/c, good parking, nice and fast desk staff. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Channel_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Let's start with the to10 times to have keys reset in one week. The toilets, won't flush with any volume at all. Yeck :(~ The keys will not work, cell phone or not!!! The day time front desk staff will do little to help you. I received a package there, got a phone message on Friday that the package arrived. On Sunday, they couldn't find the package. The bellhop went to the closet where they keep the packages. I saw my package there, but he looked me straight in the eye and told that was not my package. Worthless! The bar staff at night is good, though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. We have addressed your restroom’s issues with our maintenance team and will be reviewing our package handling policies with the front desk. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced and thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to the El Paso area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
366 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in April and had a great stay. The staff went out of their way to help me navigate in El Paso. The rooms are clean and modern. The restaurant had great food and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn El Paso Airport
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn El Paso-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Property: Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Address: 111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX 79902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in El Paso
#4 Business Hotel in El Paso
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso and across the street from two major medical centers. The hotel is within a 5 block radius of over 50 restaurants, bars and stores. Just one and half miles from the El Paso Convention Center/Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso Hotel El Paso
Hilton El Paso
El Paso Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing