We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A J's Diner

A J's Diner
Ranked #408 of 1,525 Restaurants in El Paso
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I was staying for the night in El Paso. Went to another big box chain place for breakfast but there was a waiting list. Not wanting to wait since I wanted to get on the road, I went down the street to AJ's and I a sure glad I did!

I had one of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time! It is rare for a place to get my over medium eggs right. Most of the time they are under done and more like over easy. But this time they were perfect! And the bacon was also cooked to perfection. I will certainly stop back if I am in El Paso again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davefromwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clint, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pricey and lame dessert - sad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had hot fudge sundaes. We mistakenly assumed that the 50's motif would reap us a couple of good sundaes, wrong. First of all, these things were pricey with a capital "P". They were like around $5 - $6 bucks a piece, but we decided to order thinking we'd be given an awesome dessert. Nope. We were served tiny parfait glasses with about six tablespoons of content. The hot fudge was either really old, really cheap or both. The service was lame. It took a while to get a waitress to come over. We ordered coffee/decaf and were told in a bored tone, "well, I'll have to make some..." Like she hoped we'd say, "oh no, don't bother." I think we were charged around $2 or more a cup... tiny coffee cup... no offer of a refill... I wouldn't recommend wasting my money at this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Tx
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A classic diner experience for the modern age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a modern reproduction diner in the corner of a strip mall. It's rather unassuming in appearance. But the decor and foods offer a fairly realistic diner experience.

I've eaten there a number of times and the food is always predictable. Simple diner fare prepared well. The service, however, is lousy. But then again, I don't remember any old timers raving about the service they received in diners back in the day, so maybe that just adds to the authenticity of the experience.

If you are visiting the city and are in the area, it's a good place to get a decent meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plink_from_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average diner food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Air-conditioner so cold that it made the experience cold. Food just ok and service okay. Cool decor.

Helpful?
Thank Bobbi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
453 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Very good food, very poor service (the food saves the restaurant).”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My family and I went out with some friends and we chose this restaurant because I was in the mood for some diner food. I was not disappointed food wise. The food was also very reasonably priced. We had the frito pie as an appetizer and it was very good. It had a lot of chili and melted cheese (I could have done without the onions but my wife likes them).

My wife had the Patti Paige and I had the Egglicious Burger (Heart Attack Burger). We both thought they were very good. There is no way a normal person could eat the whole burger that I had. I eat a lot and I was only able to eat about 75 percent of it. The over easy egg was cooked to perfection, along with the burger. I also had the curly fries with mine and they were very good as well.

My wife and I split a Black Forest Shake (which is enough for two people). It had a very nice flavor to it.

On a side note, you kind of feel like you are in the 50s or 60s because the design of the restaurant fits that era almost perfectly.

The only complaints that we have about this restaurant is that the service was terrible and they need more tables for parties larger than four (they only have two tables that can accomodate parties larger than 4). As far as the service, we would go 15 or 20 minutes without seeing our waitress. I even had to go ask for our check after waiting about 20 - 30 minutes for our waitress to bring us our check. She apologized, but there is no excuse for that bad of service (the place is not that big!).

We will be back, but we hope for much better service (like basically any service at all!) next time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kandkwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A J's Diner also viewed

 

Been to A J's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing