We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“local steakhouse with solid menu and just good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great American Land & Cattle

Great American Land & Cattle
Ranked #569 of 1,526 Restaurants in El Paso
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“local steakhouse with solid menu and just good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Passing through, found on GPS looking for something not-fast-food. We went to the one on Yarborough. Had ribeye and mahi-mahi. Ribeye was flavorful, good cut of meat. Mahi-mahi was generous serving cooked perfectly. Steamed veggies were also very good. They had some beans and coleslaw with little pineapples in it for sides - very flavorful. Friendly staff, pretty good service, and side note that their house coffee was delicious! Good dinner in El Paso.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cleichhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
690 reviews
491 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great price, great food, great service because it's Great American Steakburger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We needed a fantastically fast and tasty luncheon today as we scurried between work assignments, and Great American Steakburger at 2220 N. Yarbrough, Montwood Mall Shopping Center, El PasoTX 79935 met those conditions exactly. Even though moderately crowded, we were seated and quickly served by Danny S. Not only did he ensure prompt attention, he also made sure we had ample water, the rolls were fresh & hot, as well as the entrees. My colleagues each had beer-battered chicken plates, while I enjoyed the senior (grilled) chicken plate + vegetables. My dish was just the right size and delectable--I didn't even leave drippings! I noticed my two comrades ate with similar gusto. Besides the food, another aspect I liked was the speed for the entire meal, from excellent close parking (we carpooled to save fuel and the environment), to personalized attention, and the general effectiveness of it all. For (sports) aficionados, thin-screen televisions adorn some walls to keep track of the (game) (news, etc.). I highly recommend this fine establishment for anyone wanting a great lunch OR evening meal; next time, I'll try the signature steaks!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanito_Hayburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Great big steak, good sides, fairly good service. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

First time visitor while visiting El Paso. Had the grilled Cajun chicken breast sandwich. Food was hot and quite tasty. Didnt care too much for the steak fries but the tea is pretty decent, not too sweet...just right.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afclakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great sirloin steak sandwich. Also try the fajita burger. Not too wild about the potato wedges... Actually, try to...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Great sirloin steak sandwich. Also try the fajita burger. Not too wild about the potato wedges... Actually, try to stick to anything that's meat. The meat is amazing, but the sides leave something to be desired.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Land & Cattle also viewed

 

Been to Great American Land & Cattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing