We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Tex-Mex in a real neighborhood”
Review of L & J Cafe

L & J Cafe
Ranked #2 of 1,553 Restaurants in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Bent NM
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Real Tex-Mex in a real neighborhood”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This El Paso tradition (The old place by the graveyard) serves real Tex-Mex that is spirited but not too spicy. The chile relleno is perhaps the best I have ever eaten. The cheese enchiladas are remarkable too. The tacos come out a little soggy but part of that is they are overstuffed.
The restaurant has a long oval bar flanked by a long row of tables. Highly popular with the locals, it is crowded and you will have to wait for a place. It is worth the wait.
Reasonable prices. Cold beer. Attentive service. And real El Paso atmosphere.
Located a block off IH-10 at Copia St., next to the graveyard of course.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    293
    84
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food with culture and history!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This restaurant is almost hidden, but WELL KNOWN. The locals keep it in business and bring vendors and newcomers to experience the authentic, tasty atmosphere. This restaurant is 3 generations old, so the flavor of the food is better than ever. The menu entertains you while waiting on your food, which didn't take long at all! Every bit of food I tasted was AMAZING! I would certainly go back next time I visit El Paso. You must STOP in. I HIGHLY recommend the Chile Con Queso Sirloin! You won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food. It was fresh and authentic. Good service. Thanks to all the previous reviewers who got us here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I hate to share this relative secret”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From our first visit to our latest I am always amazed that I've yet to taste some of these flavors. The menu seems to hold many of the usuals, until your food arrives. Always some aspect of flavor that is hard to detect but none the less very flavorful. Great service and if you wonder why the bar is so full in the middle of the day that is because that is where the drink specials are. Easy to find off of I10 and minutes to most anywhere in the city makes this a great stop no matter your reason in El Paso. I know my sisters arrive from the airport and it is our mandatory first stop. Give it a shot and if all else fails, the cemetery is across the street!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went to lunch at this restaurant in El Paso. Had my reservations prior to going. Ordered Taco combo which came with chicken, beef and guacamole tacos I was very impressed. Food was great. Had an excellent taste, fresh and the green and red sauce that came with the meal was delicious. The chips provided pre-food was also fresh. Customer service was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L & J Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing