We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals”
Review of L & J Cafe

L & J Cafe
Ranked #2 of 1,546 Restaurants in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Locals”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very often it is good to go way from chains and go where the locals go. L&J is that type of place. My daughter took me there for lunch. At 1 PM it was jammed. They served up very good Mexican and very good service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gblack7205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    290
    83
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I always look for a place with character...”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Whenever i'm on a business trip or traveling for fun, I try to find places to eat that have character, that will give you a real taste of the town. Though I haven't spent much time in El Paso, so I can't speak for the rest of the restaurants in the town, The L & J Cafe defiantly represents El Paso well. Great food, amazingly fun and colorful atmosphere where you get to rub shoulders with the friendly El Paso locals. More fun is that the L & J is right across the street from a cemetery, and has a lot of history in El Paso as one of the touching points for people both from the Mexican and American sides.

Overall, I highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoePoe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“true mexican food, with american portions”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This ia a great place to get true mexican food, but with american sized portions. Great staff and food but can be swamped at lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsawyer169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I had the chicken enchiladas with green sauce. It did not disappoint. No one at my table was disappointed. It is in an older part of town but I felt safe. It is very popular and parking can be a problem. You must go.

Helpful?
Thank Later82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

What a fun place- began in the 1920's- during bootlegging. many of the soldiers cam here from Fort Bliss! It is named after a lady and her husband who bought it in 1965!
Great food- very small- you may have to wait!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Booklady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L & J Cafe also viewed

 

Been to L & J Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing