We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better on death row”
Review of Carnitas Queretaro

Carnitas Queretaro
Ranked #92 of 1,543 Restaurants in El Paso
Restaurant details
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Better on death row”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wow! What a let down. I am leaving El Paso and I had never been to this restaurant but some of my coworkers said it was among the best Mexican food in El Paso. I had to lobotomize my friends, as they are clearly insane.

I told the server that this might be my last Mexican food for a while, so I would like the best thing on the menu. I was pointed to the "signature" dish which was carnitas queretaro.

The meat was flavorless, hard, dry and tough, and they didn't provide a knife (or a wolf to chew it for me) and I could not eat more than a few nibbles.

Seriously? I could cook an old pair of shoes better than that. Beans and rice were average as was the water. So how are these people still in business?

Instead of a last meal in El Paso, it was more like a last meal in the electric chair.

Disgusting and disappointing!
Can I give a half star? Or zero?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carnitas Queretaro”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Restaurant atmosphere was very good, service was excellent. Something you would expect when a restaurant has just opened, and they are really trying to impress people. Food was very good; I had the steak tacos - unlimited fresh hot tortillas, enough steak strips to get your fill and take some home, good pico ! What you do need to be aware of, is that they will automatically add 18% gratuity to your check if you have a party of 6 or more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Everything we had at this location was great. Highly reccomend the carnitas. Fajitas were also good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedSox1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
567 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Bueno”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I stopped in for a business lunch, this was my first time. We started with guacamole and quest fundido. Very good. I ordered the carnitas and it was great, very tasty and full of flavor. Great tortillas, made in house and you can tell. I also order am apple soda, a friend suggested I try it and it was great with lunch. I'll be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“genuine Mexican food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Genuine Mexican food of better than average quality, compared with the standard El Paso Mexican joint. Very large menu with plenty of selections of skillets, grilled specialties, tacos, sopes, soups, tortas, etc. Friendly waitress. Want to go back to sample more menu items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carnitas Queretaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing