We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Carnitas Queretaro

Carnitas Queretaro
Ranked #91 of 1,543 Restaurants in El Paso
Restaurant details
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Everything we had at this location was great. Highly reccomend the carnitas. Fajitas were also good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedSox1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
566 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Bueno”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I stopped in for a business lunch, this was my first time. We started with guacamole and quest fundido. Very good. I ordered the carnitas and it was great, very tasty and full of flavor. Great tortillas, made in house and you can tell. I also order am apple soda, a friend suggested I try it and it was great with lunch. I'll be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“genuine Mexican food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Genuine Mexican food of better than average quality, compared with the standard El Paso Mexican joint. Very large menu with plenty of selections of skillets, grilled specialties, tacos, sopes, soups, tortas, etc. Friendly waitress. Want to go back to sample more menu items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
356 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“AMAZING CARNITAS!!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We read several reviews and they were not real inspiring, but we decided to give this place a try anyways. We really enjoyed it. My husband ordered the beef fajitas and I ordered the carnitas. We thought this food was by far the best mexican food we have eaten here in El Paso. The fajitas were great and the carnitas were amazing. Service was awesome and the food was out pretty quick. The only negative thing I can think of is I asked for a small little thing of sour cream, guacamole and some green sauce for my carnitas (you think that it would come with the meal) and was charged $7 extra for my request. That seemed a little high, but the food was really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to try CQ today after driving by it for months and seeing it packed with cars.

Well, we still don't get it.

We went to a late lunch on a Saturday. The place was pretty full and dirty. Can you say BROOM?

Our chips were stale and greasy. The salsa was watery.

Our server didn't know the menu. We asked if they had fish tacos - she said no. We open the menu - yeah, "fish tacos."

We ended up ordering the house special - "Carnitas Queretaro" and fish with garlic sauce. I specifically asked, "Is this the whole fried fish, with the head on?" She looked me square in the eye and said, "Yes."

After a relatively long wait - our food finally arrived. The carnitas were at room temp as were the beans and rice sides. Funny thing though - they were all served on a cast iron skillet that had absolutely no sizzle.

The fish? A headless Tilapia fillet that was swimming in grease. The mashed potatoes that came with the fish were pretty good though.

Needless to say, we won't be likely to give this place a second chance - there are too many great Mexican restaurants nearby to take a chance on so-so food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bem-Safado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carnitas Queretaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing