We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Probably Overpriced”

Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood
Ranked #4 of 1,546 Restaurants in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Haslett, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Probably Overpriced”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We tried this place once with another couple (and I will try not to let their company negatively influence this rating). The atmosphere was really nice. There happened to be live music the night we went. We were able to sit out on the patio (which is not uncommon in El Paso). The food was okay, but I thought it a bit overpriced. For really good steak in El Paso, head to Edge of Texas or Cattleman's Steakhouse.

The location is very close to the airport and Fort Bliss though. Lots of hotels in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    188
    88
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2nd time around, is just bad”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ok, I tried the food again. Salad bar is wonderful however if you order a steak...be prepared to ask for steak sauce. Steak cooked perfectly but absolutely NO FLAVOR. No seasoning, not even salt or pepper. was the blandest, most expensive ribeye i've eaten in a long time. Love the salad bar but will not ever return ask they can't seem to get a steak correct. Shame, Shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secretshopped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Quick and tasty with excellent service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We needed to eat dinner before flying out and decided to try this place rather than take our chances with airport food. We liked the salad bar which had a large variety of items. Service was excellent and cost was very reasonable since we were there during a non-peak time. Would definitely return when in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was okay, service was excellent.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location near hotels is excellent. We were a large party and seated right away, which is also convenient. There is a large salad bar that we were excited to try. Overall the food was mediocre. The salads were average. The soups were okay but not exciting (eg the french onion soup was salty, even for french onion). The fries were and "onion rings" were not well liked by anyone at the table, and we are all fried food lovers! (the onion rings were little crunchy bits, and should not be called rings.). Server was attentive and professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Large party and great service”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food as good and I normally don't go to places with salad bars. Our service was excellant. Would return

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank skgcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing