We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greet atmosphere”
Review of Tom's Folk Cafe - CLOSED

Tom's Folk Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Greet atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was in El Paso for a few days and was not expecting much. Found Toms on trip advisor. It is small but very cozy with nice decor. Has a Austin feel which is a good thing(?h Food was fantastic. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious-Hiddden Treasure”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I love eating at this restaurant! Although the place is small, it has a cozy and homey feel to it. Have yet to try all the dishes but so far every dish I have tried has yet to disappoint!!.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place has great food!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I took my kids their for lunch, they had great food. Everything tasted wonderful. The chef was able to make accommodations (turning the chicken strips into nuggets) so that my kids would eat them. I have very picky kids. We are planning another trip back for my hubby to try. I cannot believe I never tried this place before, I was missing out!

Pros: Good atmosphere
Good music
Great food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clovebuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Find - Get there early”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tom's is truly a funky, eclectic place. The restaurant itself is small, but, the food is very good. The feel is of a very good neighborhood restaurant, the food is straight forward, honest and fresh. The beef short ribs were amazing. It seems El Paso foodies and restaurants are taking a turn into the refined comfort food zone with Toms and Crave (other review) leading the charge.

Visit them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGS305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,186 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 760 helpful votes
“Fantastic comfort food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food is very rich and filling but delicious. I would call it gourmet southern food. Service was good but even though restaurant was not full they did not want to seat me until my friend arrived, I would understand this if they were full but found it odd since there were many seats available.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Folk Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing