We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very classic pleasant stay”
Review of Gardner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gardner Hotel
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very classic pleasant stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Overall it's gay friendly and near a lot of bars and clubs from safe walking distance.. Truly for great price indeed you will get what you paid for, staff is friendly, protective as well to assure your stay is pleasant .. The room I stayed had a private bathroom(bathrooms opitional) my view was fun on the second floor,everything is so clean and smoke free because there is no smoking in the hotel.. Intresting history by the original owner in the 20's because once the Owner supported the KKK is long gone and now as time changed with different owners with gay friendly staff members... Indeed I will be stayin this hotel again to my next visit to El Paso..

Room Tip: Since there's clubs next door it's better on the Franklin side of the hotel... Weekends mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRipley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
8
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel after a friend in the county historic society told us about it. Extremely good value, don't expect the taj mahal but more than adequate for the price. Very very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wsh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
292 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Gardner Hotel several times as El Paso is my hometown and i am here to visit family..Ruben is especially nice..i like the Gardner hotel because it fits everything i want, going to Juarez, visiting the downtown museums, and good eating for a cheap price. I dont mind that downtown is dead after 5 pm, but then the clubs around the corner open. I usually just sleep here as I am in my family.s house or in Juarez the rest of the time..Love that it is old fashioned..plus more..

Room Tip: This is a nice place if you want the basics like wifi, a good place to sleep and so on..but if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place is a pretty old building however if you like a building with plenty of character then you wont mind this place. The staff behind the desk were very friendly. The rooms were very basic and the TV I think was still around when square wheels were in fashion. The price was a little high for what you get; however what we did get in our stay we have no complaints about.
Put simply, slightly overpriced but comfortable. If your not too picky and fairly easy going then this isn't a bad stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

i stay here just for night, nothing special only location, price for rooms also not to cheap for quality of rooms, also you can book dorms her,

Room Tip: i dont know
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangirdas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Gardner offers perfectly adequate hostel accommodation, but it was the weird and wonderful old building and the friendliness of the staff that really made for a memorable stay. One thing I would wholeheartedly recommend would be to go on one of staff member Antonio's tours, if he's still offering them; our day trip to White Sands, which included innumerable little diversions to the kind of out-of-the-way sights and attractions (including foraging for pecans and stopping to look at swallows' nests under a bridge) only a local could know about, was just about the best (and cheapest!) tour I've ever taken. Antonio also -- just out of sheer friendliness -- accompanied me and another guest on a short trip across the border, and while I'm not sure I'd return to Juarez knowing what I know now, Antonio's presence made the whole thing far less daunting. In summary, I guess I'd give the Gardner around 3.5 stars on its own merit, but I'd give it TEN for Antonio if I could!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helix_Aspersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Passed through El Paso when travelling with my friend last summer. Since this was the only hostel we could find we didnt really have a choice but to stay here! Hated the experience from start to finish, found the main reception guy inappropriate, aggressive and almost menacing....no exageration. Horrible room, lonely corridors and the only other guests appeared to be homeless men. We had booked in for 7 days but left after 3 and checked into a Best Western which exceeded our budget but was worth it for a sound fearless sleep! A genuinely creepy place, old and tattered and not in a charming way. It should not be allowed to advertise as a hostel.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JoJotheEskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
0.3 mi away
Camino Real El Paso
Camino Real El Paso
#67 of 81 in El Paso
3.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
2.8 mi away
Hotel HillVue
Hotel HillVue
#62 of 81 in El Paso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardner Hotel

Property: Gardner Hotel
Address: 311 E Franklin Ave, El Paso, TX 79901-1211
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gardner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** Under New Management ** The historic Gardner Hotel is under new management but has maintained its history and is still a family business. The Gardner Hotel is the oldest continually operating hotel and hostel in the city of El Paso, located near Downtown and all the pubs, cafes and clubs that encircle the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). The rooms still have their original antique furniture, with the exception of a few necessary upgrades, to give you a small taste of the history we have to offer. Check out the famous people that have stayed in our hotel and the the El Paso history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelsClick so you can book your Gardner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing