We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
HIdden gem in El Paso

Lived in town for over 26 years and never experienced the beauty of the Franklin Mountains. Took... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
62Vetteman
,
Cedar Park, Texas
great hiking - beautiful scenery

every time we go to the Franklin mountains I have had the opportunity to see an onslaught of... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Monica_Riehl
,
El Paso, Texas
Read all 365 reviews
  
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
207
122
28
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
122
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews franklin mountains cave trail great hiking loose gravel bring water hiking shoes great workout city limits beautiful scenery short hike west side entry fee united states rock climbing nice view scenic drive picnic
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 365 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Some trails aren't marked very well. I would recommend hiking to the top and taking the tram down. Overall it's a nice place to hike and take the dog.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Yvonnelaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I usually make this a stop at least once a year when in El Paso just for the fantastic view. One can see for miles. Simply a great location and breathtaking views.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's a little confusing because the official address of the park (1331 McKelling Canyon Rd) is a manned ranger station and gift shop, only includes one trail. The Rangers there are very helpful in pointing you to the main portion of the park and helping you plan your visit. The main portion of the park, so to speak is called "Tom Mays Unit". This park of the park does not have a maned ranger station, so a cash or check is needed to pay the $5 entrance fee. This part of the park has an official rock climbing area as well as numerous hiking trails and gorgeous views of the Franklin mountains! The vegetation is mostly that of the Chihuahuan desert, but the cliffs are a beautiful, pink granite. It wasn't well visited (in September) when I went, so I had the entire place to myself. Talk about peace and tranquility!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

These mountains are just breathtaking and there is just so much geology in them Its amazing what you can find in these rocks. It is such a calm and serene park. I think more people should go check it out.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank DeanWinchester32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Driving up to the Franklin Mountains, you get absorbed by the majestic view! Lots of scenic stops along the way for you to enjoy a bird's-eye look at El Paso.

I visited this state park during the "Chihuahan Desert Fiesta" event; which is held annually. During this trip, we got to learn about the wildlife that lives in the desert (ring-tailed cats, coyotes, rattlesnakes, scorpions, tarantulas, toads... the list goes on!) and took a guided tour into the abandoned "Cottonwood Mine" shaft (abandoned because it doesn't have copper, as was initially thought). Through guided tours, we also learned about the minerals that the mountains are made of and how water eroded and shaped the mountains to how they look today.

Even if you don't get to go during one of their special events, you'll enjoy the hiking and natural beauty! And they have restrooms and picnic areas. If you like the outdoors, you'll love the Franklin Mountains! Just take water and plenty of sunblock, cause this is the desert after all!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews