We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Theatre

Plaza Theatre
Ranked #4 of 85 things to do in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
El Paso
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is such an amazing theatre! The history alone makes it worth a visit. The El Paso Symphony plays there now; the El Paso Opera performs there; the Broadway series is hosted there - we saw "Wicked" last fall. The seats are old and for people like me that are a little WIDE, they were tight, but there aren't really any bad seats in the House. I was able to see the inside of the theatre BEFORE the restoration and what they have done with it boggles the mind. Even in the past, you could see what it had been in its heyday and they have brought it back. I hope that you all get a chance to attend an event there because it is worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    49
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful performances. Great seating throughout the house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Enjoyed the music in its fullness. There was nothing to dislike.The performance softly grabbed your heart and kept in the performance until the last measure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
238 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We saw Green Day's American Idiot performed here. Seats were comfortable if narrow. The facility was easily accessible for my wife who was wearing a cast but able to walk. It is a little small compared to Broadway theaters but is nice inside with easy adjacent parking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank docallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pride and Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a must see theater. Service, stage\sound system excellent and the quality attractions keep on coming. You should also scope out the new condos being built nearby the theater. El Paso is slowly but surely coming into its own. We need to continue taking pride in our resilient city :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Erika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OUR PRESERVATION HALL WAS ALL WORTH IT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to our city and the El Paso Community Foundation fundraisers. Our PlazaTheatre holds loads of history in our city. The entertainment has been amazing and the turn outs have been heartfelt. Out of town guests should definitely be taken to an event at the Plaza. The preservation is stunning!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank babslicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing