We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only for natl park passport junkies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chamizal National Memorial

Chamizal National Memorial
Ranked #14 of 85 things to do in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Only for natl park passport junkies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is one of those strange places in the national park system that don't seem to belong. As other reviewers have said, it's a nice bit of history but part of the national park system? That being said the rangers(why they needed more than one is beyond me) were very nice and offered helpful tips about nearby NPS properties. I understand they have an art gallery that was between exhibits and have many cultural events and concerts on their property. We looked at the exhibits, watched the film and walked to the edge of the park to get a picture of Mexico sign in the background. Plan on spending no more than 30 minutes here. We actively search out NPS properties on our travels and got our national park passports stamped so we were happy campers. ( Sure, everyone as Yellowstone and Yosemite in their passports but how many have Chamizal?) ;)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A well kept small park established in the 1960s to commemorate the treaty (The Chamizal Convention) which resulted in the peaceful settlement of a century-long boundary dispute between the U.S.A. and Mexico. What is noteworthy is that because of the park's close proximity to Ciudad Juarez, bullets have been known to travel into El Paso when gunfights erupt from the drug cartel's illicit activities in Mexico. Though the chances of getting hit by a bullet are slim, it is an interesting fact to keep in mind. (Not picking on this location per se, since the same awareness level could be said to apply when traveling through southcentral Los Angeles!)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Review my history here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had not been here in years so decided to visit! Got to read about the Chamizal treaty in 68 happened when I was just a child. The grounds are still well kept and I would have walked it if it had not been so cold. Got a 20% discount at the Gift shop since I am a teacher, but should have had more stuff..I would have bought more. Rangers very nice..recommend to anyone who wants to know about the history in my hometown!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Historically significant, but boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I visited Chamizal for a work-related function. There was nothing terribly unique about it. It is just a square of nicely-tended grass with a building that tells the story of negotiations between the US and Mexico regarding placement of the border. It accept that it is historically significant. However, apart from reading placards, there is nothing much to do.

In the summertime, there is a concert series held on the Chamizal lawns which are (allegedly) very pleasant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kirixchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorman, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

It seems like a nice city park with a few historical markers. As far as a tourist destination I would not go out of my way to visit it but it is a nice relaxed atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamizal National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Chamizal National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing